Exposition « Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-Designer », Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, 2018 © Luc Boegly
Exposition « Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-Designer », Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, 2018 © Luc Boegly

News

“Made in Olivari”, interview with Antonio Olivari

© Olivari
© Olivari

For more than 100 years, Olivari, a specialist of manufactured door handles, has collaborated with the greatest international designers and architects. Recently, the Italian company’s collaboration with Gio Ponti has been highlighted by the exhibition devoted to the Italian architect and designer at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris (until May 5, 2019). AA asked a few questions to Antonio Olivari, Head of Research & Development.

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui: What makes Olivari stand out in the door handles market today?

Antonio Olivari: First of all, it is one of the longest-running companies with most history. Founded in 1911, it is a family business currently being managed by the third generation. It is an Italian company, but it is not only “Made in Italy”, it is proudly “Made in Olivari”. The entire production process, very efficient and completely “green”, has always taken place in our own factories in Borgomanero — 70 km from Milan — in a region with a strong tradition in metalworking and brass in particular.
Olivari is also a very demanding company regarding its standards of product quality. Strong investments in the most advanced technologies, from galvanic to vacuum metallisation, allowed us to have a range of finishes among the widest and most durable ones. In this way the customer and the architect can choose the option most suitable to their needs. At last, Olivari likes to communicate and get involved in cultural projects, telling with books and exhibitions how fascinating and exciting can be what is defined as a “simple machine” — the door handle.

AA: What is Olivari’s story with architecture and design?
AO: Olivari cooperated with the best Italian architects from the very beginning, when the concept of design was not popular yet, creating handles for prestigious buildings, such as, in Milan, the Palazzo di Giustizia, the Pirelli skyscraper by Gio Ponti and the Torre Velasca by iconic office BBPR. Over time it extended its collaborations to international architects and designers, building a catalogue full of shapes and styles, but with a common Olivari imprint: attention to detail and proportions.

AA: Today, what are the main challenges of such collaborations?
AO: In every new project and every joint experience we have to interpret and transform the “idea of a handle” developed by the designer into a concrete “handle”. The handle seems like a “simple” object. In fact it must respond to different challenges. Technical first, as it needs to be used on many types of doors and at the same time economical as it must have a compatible productive procedure. It must be hand-grip and must be pleasant to the eyes. And above all, it must have its own originality and identity in the saturated panorama of the already existing handles. Among the challenges, this last one I believe is the most demanding for us. We want to be a leader company, innovative and proactive. That’s why we like to cooperate with the most creative and inspiring designers.

AA: Can you tell us more about your current and future projects?
AO: Our current projects are aimed to the completion and refinement of the range of products and finishes, which must always keep abreast with the evolution of the furniture world, which is in constant development. The future plans concern a better and more penetrating commercial presence, in Italy and above all abroad, with the collaboration of very competent business partners in harmony with the company values.

© licitra
Gio Ponti, Pirelli tower, Milano, 1930 © licitra

 

© licitra
Gio Ponti, Pirelli tower, Milan, 1930  © licitra

 

Les poignées « Anello » et « Cono », dessinée par Gio Ponti pour Olivari en XXXX © Olivari
© Olivari

Handles “Cono” and “Anello”, designed by Gio Ponti for Olivari in 1954.

© Olivari
© Olivari

Gio Ponti, “Lama”, “Anello”, “Cono”, “E42”, prototypes.

More about Olivari: www.olivari.it

The “Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-designer” exhibition is on view at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris until May 5th 2019: madparis.fr

React to this article

Exposition « Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-Designer », Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, 2018 © Luc Boegly
Exposition « Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-Designer », Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, 2018 © Luc Boegly

Actualités

« Made in Olivari » : rencontre avec Antonio Olivari

Antonio Olivari
© Olivari

Depuis plus de 100 ans, Olivari, spécialiste dans la confection de poignées de porte, travaille avec les plus grands designers et architectes internationaux. Dernièrement, la collaboration de l’entreprise italienne avec Gio Ponti a été mise en lumière lors de l’exposition consacrée à l’architecte et designer italien au Musée des Arts décoratifs à Paris, ouverte jusqu’au 5 mai 2019. Rencontre avec Antonio Olivari, directeur Recherche & Développement de l’entreprise.

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui: À l’heure actuelle, qu’est-ce qui caractérise Olivari sur le marché ?

Antonio Olivari : C’est avant tout l’une des entreprises les plus anciennes dans ce domaine. Fondée en 1911, Olivari est une entreprise italienne dirigée par la même famille depuis trois générations. Nous pouvons dire avec fierté que nous ne faisons pas seulement du « Made in Italy », mais aussi du « Made in Olivari ». L’intégralité de la chaîne de production, à la fois durable et efficace, se déroule encore dans nos locaux de Borgomanero, à 70 km de Milan, dans une région ayant une longue tradition du travail des métaux et du laiton en particulier.
Olivari est aussi une entreprise très exigeante en termes de qualité : nous investissons dans les technologies de pointe, de la métallisation galvanique à la métallisation sous vide, qui nous ont permis d’élargir notre gamme de finitions et d’assurer sa durabilité. Enfin, nous aimons communiquer et nous investir dans des projets culturels : raconter dans des livres, à travers des expositions, à quel point travailler sur ce qu’on appelle un simple « outil » — une poignée — peut-être fascinant et passionnant.

AA : Quelle est l’histoire d’Olivari avec l’architecture et le design ?
AO : Dès sa création, Olivari s’est associée aux meilleurs architectes italiens, alors même que la notion de design n’était pas encore si populaire. Nous avons créé des poignées pour des bâtiments milanais, tel le Palazzo di Giustizia, la tour Pirelli de Gio Ponti, ou encore la Torre Velasca de l’agence BBPR. Au fil du temps, nous avons étendu cette collaboration à l’international, permettant de nous constituer un catalogue riche de formes et de styles, portant toujours la marque d’Olivari : le soin accordé aux détails et à la juste proportion.

AA : Quels sont aujourd’hui les défis relatifs à ce type de collaboration ?
AO : Dans chaque nouveau projet, nous devons interpréter et transformer « l’idée d’une poignée » développée dans l’esprit de son concepteur en une poignée « concrète ». Si cette poignée a des allures d’objet « simple », elle doit en effet répondre à de nombreux défis. D’abord techniques car elle doit s’accorder à un usage et s’adapter à de nombreux types de portes ; puis économiques, en respectant un processus de production en accord avec le budget ; enfin, ergonomiques bien sûr, et esthétiques. Et surtout, le produit doit être original et reconnaissable, au milieu du large spectre de poignées disponibles. Parmi les défis qui nous attendent à chaque projet, je crois que ce dernier est le plus exigeant de tous. C’est pourquoi nous aimons travailler avec les designers les plus créatifs et les plus stimulants.

© licitra
Gio Ponti, Tour Pirelli, Milan, 1930 © licitra

 

© licitra
Gio Ponti, Tour Pirelli, Milan, 1930  © licitra

 

Les poignées « Anello » et « Cono », dessinée par Gio Ponti pour Olivari en XXXX © Olivari
© Olivari

Les poignées « Cono » et « Anello », dessinées par Gio Ponti pour Olivari en 1954.

Olivari

Gio Ponti, prototypes pour les poignées « Lama », « Anello » et « Cono », E42.

Pour plus d’informations sur Olivari : www.olivari.it

L’exposition « Tutto Ponti, Gio Ponti Archi-designer » se tient au Musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris jusqu’au 5 mai 2019. Pour plus d’informations : https://madparis.fr

Réagissez à cet article