News

“Identically”: Philippe Trétiack’s quid

© Astrid di Crollalanza

Architect and urban planner by training, Philippe Trétiack is a journalist and writer. He has been a reporter for thirty years and collaborates with several magazines, including Vanity Fair, ELLE Décoration and Air France Magazine… As an author, he has published some twenty books including Faut-il pendre les architectes ? (Seuil, 2001), De notre envoyé spécial (Editions de l’Olivier, 2015), and L’Architecture à toute vitesse (Seuil, 2016). In AA’s pages, Philippe Trétiack decodes, with a certain sense of humour, the architectural jargon in the Quid ? column. In AA 431, he dives into “identically”.

 

 

Identically, the obscure clarity of this word spewed into our living rooms after the devastating effect of the appalling fire at Notre-Dame cathedral in Paris. Suddenly, loads of experts called for gothic design. To hear them speak, national cohesion required gargoyles and lead, scalloped edges and grotesques, all smeared happily from top to bottom and even across the cathedral. We had to get moving so that Viollet-le-Duc’s spire could be recreated in a superbly similar style than that designed one hundred and sixty years ago. Suddenly, everywhere, newspaper columns and assembly benches were discussing medieval architecture! Victor Hugo was quoted liberally, abusing his texts along the way, forgetting to reproduce them identically, but no matter! The illustrious author, in declaring “this will destroy that”, was utterly wrong. He thought that the book would destroy the edifice, when in fact it’s the opposite that is true.

Under this enthusiasm, a dull terror is lurking, that of seeing the cathedral boasting a feeble copy, a poor parody or a tacky spire in the future. As the wonderful Bernard Desmoulin, the architect behind the renovation of the Cluny museum, said: “In expecting worse, the completion of an architecture of compromise, a kitsch spire that is a pastiche of the original”. In this way, yes, this identically hammered home nastily is a stopgap solution. Or an exaggeration, a smokescreen. While some good souls full of respect for cathedrals swoon in front of the embellishments of the now-lost spire, work goes on. Thus, the disastrous project to convert the Trocadéro-Ecole militaire connection cropped up secretly. Designed by the American architect and landscaper Kathryn Gustafson with Porter and Browman, this project proposes to spread a tarmac of boring lawn which will reduce it to silence. Worse still, the bitter cherry on the cake, the inane proposal wants to force upon us a row of sickly trees planted each side of the Pont d’Iéna bridge.

God forbid! Does Paris’ beauty not derive from this succession of bridges that captivate the gaze? Should we not demand an identical result here too? Of course not, for the sake of some greenery, a lawned Paris must offer flowerbeds and low walls for the dawdlers and tourists in withdrawal from relaxation and food trucks (sic and even… sick). Paris must therefore give up the splendid greyness of its stone to become green. Madam Mayor, dear romantic official, please know that there is an ecology of vision. Admittedly, unlike the other, which is composed of pistils and courgettes, this ecology demands culture, literary culture, not the cultivation ofturnips. Would Victor Hugo have wanted his city to become a caf. terrace where an expresso would reach, like a cathedral spire, unwarranted prices? Or should we understand that for Paris city hall, identically means a poor replica?

Find Philippe Trétiack’s Quid in L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui Nr. 431, available here.

React to this article

Actualités

« À l’identique », le Quid de Philippe Trétiack

© Astrid di Crollalanza

Architecte et urbaniste de formation, Philippe Trétiack est journaliste et écrivain. Grand reporter depuis trente ans, il collabore avec plusieurs magazines, dont Vanity Fair, ELLE Décoration, Air France Magazine… Auteur, il a publié une vingtaine d’ouvrages dont Faut-il pendre les architectes ? (Seuil, 2001), De notre envoyé spécial (Éditions de l’Olivier, 2015), et L’Architecture à toute vitesse (Seuil, 2016). Dans les pages de L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, Philippe Trétiack décrypte avec humour le jargon de l’architecture dans la rubrique Quid ? Pour le n°431, il s’attaque à l’expression « à l’identique ».

 

À l’identique, cette expression à l’obscure clarté a jailli en nos salons sous l’effet dévastateur de l’effroyable incendie de la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris. D’un coup, des tombereaux d’experts ont réclamé du gothique. À les entendre, la cohésion nationale exigeait de la gargouille et du plomb, du festonné et de la chimère, et le tout badigeonné à tire-larigot de haut en bas et même dans la largeur. Et cela sans attendre. Il fallait foncer pour qu’au plus tôt la flèche de Viollet-le-Duc retrouve une superbe en tous points similaire à ce qu’elle avait été cent soixante années durant. Soudain et partout, des colonnes de journaux aux perchoirs des assemblées, on a roulé médiéval ! Et de citer Victor Hugo dans un sens et dans l’autre, maltraitant le texte au passage, oubliant de le restituer à l’identique, mais qu’importe ! L’illustre auteur, en déclarant  « ceci tuera cela », se trompait du tout au tout. Il voyait le livre occis par l’architecture, c’est l’inverse.

On devine que sous cet enthousiasme se terre une sourde frayeur. Celle de voir demain l’édifice s’enorgueillir d’une pâle copie, d’un vil pastiche, d’un clocher kitch. Comme le signifia l’excellent Bernard Desmoulin, maître d’oeuvre de la rénovation du Musée de Cluny, « en attendant pire : la livraison d’une architecture de compromis, une flèche pastkisch ». En ce sens, oui, cet à l’identique martelé à la vacharde est un pis-aller. Ou une enflure, un enfumage. Car tandis que les bonnes âmes pétries de respect pour les cathédrales se pâment devant les fioritures de la flèche évaporée, ailleurs les travaux continuent. Et c’est ainsi, qu’in-petto, a surgi le calamiteux projet de transformation de la liaison Trocadéro-Ecole militaire. Dû à l’architecte-paysagiste américaine Kathryn Gustafson associé à Porter et Browman, celui-ci propose d’étaler un tarmac de pelouse aussi rasoir que la tondeuse à gazon qui lui coupera la chique. Pire, cerise amère sur le gâteau, l’inepte proposition veut nous imposer une rangée d’arbres malingres plantés de part et d’autre du pont d’Iéna.

Grand dieu ! La beauté de Paris ne tient-elle pas justement à cette suite de ponts que le regard embrasse ? Ne faudrait-il pas là aussi exiger de la dentelle à l’identique ? Mais non, potager oblige, il faut que Paris empelousé offrent aux trainards et aux touristes en mal de « détente et de food-trucks » (sic et même… sick) de la plate-bande et du muret. Il faudra donc que Paris renonce à la grisaille splendide de ses pierres pour se verdir. Madame le Maire, chère pétulante édile, il existe sachez-le une écologie du regard. Certes, à la différence de l’autre, tout en pistil et courgettes,cette dernière exige de la culture, non de navets mais littéraire. Victor Hugo aurait-il apprécié que sa ville devienne une terrasse de café où l’expresso culminera, tel une flèche de cathédrale, à des tarifs indus ? Ou faudrait-il comprendre qu’à la mairie de Paris à l’identique s’entend à l’identoc ?

Retrouvez le Quid de Philippe Trétiack dans le numéro 431 d’AA, disponible ici.

Réagissez à cet article