séniors-personnes-agées-retraite-retraitée-images-photos-gratuites-1560x1040

Actualités

Jeremy Myerson introduces inclusive design

With populations around the world aging rapidly, we need to re-think how we design for older people. We can keep older people safe, but trapped in gilded cages. Or we can design to keep them active and fully integrated in society. Professor of Design Jeremy Myerson, former director of the Helen Hamlyn Design Centre at the Royal College of Art in London, makes a powerful case for the latter through the examples of everyday objects and adapted architecture.

The Helen Hamlyn Centre of Design at the Royal College of Art in London has been developing projects that aim to make everyday life easier for older people for the past 15 years, it is a pioneer in terms of research in inclusive design. Jeremy Myerson, co-founder, was its director for 16 years, until October 2015. As an academic and author about the role of design for almost 40 years, he began as a journalist, working for magazines such as Design, Creative Review, V&A Magazine and World Architecture. He is also Director of WORKTECH Academy and an Honorary Fellow of the Oxford Institute for Population Ageing.

The conference below took place at a TEDx event independently organised by a local community.

This video recalls the theme of the 434th issue – Ageing well in place -. L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui questioned existing architectural solutions for the elderly and the associated innovations. How can we help these young-olds to grow old at home, where they have lived their life, without being uprooted? What kind of living arrangements and services does this ageing population require?

Find the 434th issue on our online store.

React to this article

séniors-personnes-agées-retraite-retraitée-images-photos-gratuites-1560x1040

Actualités

Initiation au design inclusif, un Ted talk de Jeremy Myerson

Avec le vieillissement de plus en plus rapide des populations, nous devons repenser notre façon de concevoir pour les personnes âgées aujourd’hui. Laisserons-nous les seniors à l’abri des regards, dans des cages dorées, ou bien réussirons-nous à les intégrer pleinement à notre société ? Le professeur de design Jeremy Myerson, ancien directeur du centre de design Helen Hamlyn au Royal College of Art à Londres, présente des arguments en faveur de cette dernière solution à travers le design d’objets du quotidien ou encore d’architectures adaptées.

Le Helen Hamlyn Centre of Design du Royal College of Art à Londres développe depuis 15 ans, des projets qui visent à faciliter le quotidien des personnes âgées, pionnier dans la recherche en design inclusif (ou design universel).  Jeremy Myerson, co-fondateur, en a été le directeur pendant 16 ans, jusqu’en octobre 2015. Universitaire, auteur porté sur le rôle du design depuis près de 40 ans, il a commencé en tant que journaliste, pour des revues tels que Design, Creative Review, V&A Magazine et World Architecture. Il est également directeur de l’Académie WORKTECH, membre honoraire de l’Oxford Institute for Population Ageing.

La conférence ci-dessous a eu lieu lors d’un événement TEDx organisé de manière indépendante par une communauté locale.

Cette conférence n’est pas sans rappeler les thématiques et enjeux du n°434 – Vieillir, ici et bien -, où la rédaction de L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui s’est penchée sur les solutions architecturales existantes pour l’accompagnement des personnes âgées et les innovations en la matière. Comment aider ces jeunes-vieux à vieillir sur place, non loin de là où s’est déroulée leur existence, sans les déraciner ? Quels logements, quels services offrir à cette population vieillissante ?

Retrouvez le numéro 434 sur notre boutique en ligne.

Réagissez à cet article