© Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
© Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

News

Recycling Haussmann

Completed in 2017 in the 18th arrondissement of Paris, a 12-apartment building cladded in Trespa panels presents a trompe-l’oeil Haussmannian façade designed by French office Chartier-Corbasson. This cladding imitating its neighbour made it possible to visually insert the building into the existing alignment without mimicking it. Explanations by Thomas Corbasson.

Paris and its façades aligned with the street, each with a courtyard, a “rear” side, is the city envisaged by Haussmann. It met his requirements for a stratified urban organisation and was the target of much criticism back in our days in architecture school, when the imperative was to open Haussmann’s model and break up with this notion of interiority. Today, aims have changed and the necessity of our times is to build dense cities. The challenge, as always, is to increase profitability but also to counter urban sprawl and protect resources. From this standpoint, Haussmann’s vision of urban planning possesses qualities after all. This little lot in the 18th arrondissement of Paris, entrusted to us to by a brother and sister in 2010, did not offer the possibility of breaking the Haussmannian wall. Might as well sublimate it then!

The site seemed like a missing tooth from the moment we saw it, a break in the ribbon of Haussmannian façades. In a context like this, the façade drives the project. Ours is the fruit of a long process of maturation, relying from the outset on the specific characteristics of the two adjacent façades — one painted, the other faced with cut stone — to ensure the transition by means of transformed materials. Eventually a material was developed that could reproduce the photograph of a Haussmannian façade, thereby ensuring our initial idea of continuity. Respecting the Haussmannian ribbon was indeed at the heart of our relationship with the client. Our project had to be at least as good as the Haussmannian model, wich was the point of reference and pivot of our respective requirements. Among these were a desire for light in the common areas, a spacious staircase and not a mere concrete shaft, built-in doormats and letterboxes, a lobby clad in cut stone or an equivalent, hardwood flooring throughout, etc.

Like the façade, the general layout restores continuity with adjacent courtyards while creating setbacks required to open views. We made sure all flats benefit from double exposure to avoid reproducing what we see as the main drawback of Haussmannian architecture, i.e. the spatial distribution between courtyard and street. To achieve this, the apartments (essentially 2- or 3-room flats intended as rental units) are organised around a large central living area with double exposure, equipped with alcoves containing kitchenettes, wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling windows on each façade and balconies whose printed shutters form the trompe-l’oeil façade, the transposition of a photograph of the contiguous buildings.

The technique employed to reproduce the image takes full advantage of the characteristics of the wood and resin composite used for the panels, a material whose dark “soul” contrasts with the treatment of the surface, in this case a cut stone hue. Observation of the method of fabrication literally reveals the soul of the material. We took a photograph we had made and applied a vector graphic process to it, similar to the one used in printing newspapers. This image was transposed onto the panels in the factory — to a depth of 2 millimetres. The entire process was digitally implemented. Our office produced 450 vector files, each one unique, and sent them to the manufacturer. The process was carried out by a script, in other words, by an algorithm we developed, taking into account the technical data received from manufacturer, builder and architect. It enabled the machining onto panel surfaces up to a maximum of 20%, corresponding to the manufacturer’s warranty requirement, of a vector graphic with the precise dimension of 27 millimetres applied across the entire surface of the building. This allowed for: screws spaced every 54 centimetres; the dimension of a storey, 2,700 millimetres; and of a shutter, 270 millimetres. The algorithm we developed also integrated the available cutters with a minimum dimension of 6 millimetres. At the time, we had to use the cumulative computing power of our entire office network during a whole weekend to ensure sufficient calculating capacity to generate the vector image. The resulting design composed of lines resembles a photograph. Though a truncated reality, it fully respects Haussmann’s alignment.

This article by Thomas Corbasson has been previously published on AA’s 429th issue – Ornament – released in March 2019. Buy your copy on our online shop.

The apartments by Chartier-Corbasson in Paris’18th arrondissement © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
The apartments by Chartier-Corbasson in Paris’18th arrondissement © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

 

Côté rue, l’immeuble se déforme et se gonfle pour occuper le maximum d’espace afin d’offrir les logements les plus grands possible. Les volets font façade. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand © Chartier-Corbasson
On the street-side, the building is deformed and inflated to occupy the maximum space and offer the largest housing units possible. Shutters act as façades. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand © Chartier-Corbasson

 

Chacun des 450 panneaux de bois et résine stratifiés est fixé dans un cadre en acier laqué. © Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
Each of the 450 laminated wood and resin panels is fixed in a lacquered steel frame. © Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

 

La modélisation informatique a permis d’ajuster à l’échelle 1 l’image à reproduire en fonction des volets et de leurs vissages. L’impression a été effectuée selon une trame de 27 cm. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
Computer modeling has made it possible to adjust the image to full-scale, according to the shutters’ location and their fixings. The “printing” was based on a 27-cm grid. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

 

Architect: Chartier-Corbasson
Programme: 12 apartments: 5 T2, 5 T3, 1 studio, 1 T4 in duplex and a parking of 12 places
Surface: 932 sq. metres
Completion: March 2017

 

React to this article

L'immeuble de logements Paris XVIIIe de Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
© Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

Actualités

Recycling Haussmann

Livré en 2017 dans le XVIIIe arrondissement de Paris, un immeuble comptant 12 logements habillé de panneaux en Trespa offre, en trompe-l’oeil, l’image d’une façade haussmannienne. Une parure volontairement pixellisée par l’agence Chartier-Corbasson afin d’inscrire le nouveau volume dans l’alignement existant sans pour autant le singer. Explications par Thomas Corbasson. 

Paris et ses façades alignées sur rue, ses cours, ses faces arrière. La ville haussmannienne répond à une organisation urbaine stratifiée qui faisait l’objet, durant nos études d’architecture, de nombreuses critiques ; il fallait ouvrir l’îlot haussmannien, échapper à la notion d’intériorité. La réalité du métier est autre, et elle accueille aujourd’hui un nouvel impératif : il s’agit désormais de faire dense. Dense pour rentabiliser, mais aussi pour contrer l’étalement urbain et préserver nos ressources. De ce point de vue, l’urbanisme haussmannien présente des qualités. Cette petite parcelle dans le XVIIIe arrondissement de Paris, que nous confiaient un frère et une soeur en 2010, ne nous permettait pas de casser le mur haussmannien. Alors autant le sublimer ! 

Dès le premier regard, le site nous est apparu comme une pièce manquante, induisant une rupture dans le long ruban de façades haussmanniennes. Dans un tel contexte, la façade opère comme le générateur du projet. Celle de notre bâtiment est le fruit d’une longue maturation, s’appuyant sur les particularités propres aux deux façades mitoyennes, l’une peinte, l’autre en pierre de taille. Pour assurer une transition, nous avons mis au point une matière capable de reproduire la photo d’une façade haussmannienne. Cette idée de continuité, de respect du ruban haussmannien, fut au coeur de nos relations avec le client. Il fallait faire au moins aussi bien que le modèle haussmannien qui était notre point de référence, le pivot de nos exigences respectives, comprenant la création de parties communes éclairées, d’un escalier spacieux ne se réduisant pas à un simple tube de béton, d’un hall en pierre de taille ou équivalent, l’installation de paillassons et boîtes aux lettres intégrés, et de parquet dans toutes les pièces, etc.

Le plan général, comme la façade, rétablit la continuité des cours adjacentes, tout en dispensant les reculs nécessaires à la création de vues. Nous avons veillé à ce que tous les appartements soient traversants, refusant de reproduire ce qui nous paraissait être le principal défaut de l’architecture haussmannienne, c’est-à-dire la répartition entre cour et rue. De ce fait, les appartements (essentiellement des 2 ou 3 pièces destinés à la location) sont articulés autour d’un grand séjour central à double orientation, bordés d’alcôves intégrant les kitchenettes, et équipés sur chaque façade de baies vitrées toute largeur et de balcons tous habillés de claustras imprimées, formant une façade qui reproduit la photo de l’immeuble contigu.

La technique utilisée pour restituer cette image tire parti des caractéristiques des panneaux en Trespa, mêlant bois et résine, dont l’âme noire contraste avec le traitement de surface, en l’occurrence un ton pierre. En usinant les panneaux, on révèle littéralement l’âme du matériau. Nous avons donc appliqué une trame semblable à celle qui permet l’impression des journaux sur la photo prise par nos soins, et l’avons transposée par usinage – avec une profondeur de 2 millimètres – sur les panneaux. Nous avons numérisé le procédé et l’agence a assuré la production de 450 fichiers vectoriels différents, qu’elle a ensuite transmis à l’entreprise. Pour cela, il a fallu passer par l’écriture d’un script, un algorithme qui prenait en compte les données techniques fournies par le fabricant, l’entreprise et l’architecte. Il a ainsi pu intégré un usinage de 20% maximum de la surface des panneaux, qui correspondait à la contrainte de garantie émise par le fabricant, une trame d’une dimension précise de 27 millimètres appliquée sur la totalité de l’immeuble, permettant d’intégrer les vis tous les 54 centimètres, la dimension d’étage, 2 700 millimètres, la dimension d’un volet, 270 millimètres. L’algorithme développé a également intégré la dimension des fraises disponibles pour l’usineur, soit 6 millimètres au minimum. Nous avons dû à l’époque mobiliser la totalité des postes de l’agence, sur plus d’un week-end, pour assurer une puissance de calcul à même de générer l’image vectorielle. Le résultat est un dessin simplement composé de traits, mais qui s’apparente à une photo. La réalité est tronquée, mais l’alignement est bel et bien respecté.

Cet article écrit par Thomas Corbasson est extrait du numéro 429 d’AA, « Ornements, icônes et symboles », disponible en librairies et sur notre boutique en ligne.

L'immeuble de logements Paris XVIIIe de Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
L’immeuble de logements Paris XVIIIe de Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

 

 

Côté rue, l’immeuble se déforme et se gonfle pour occuper le maximum d’espace afin d’offrir les logements les plus grands possible. Les volets font façade. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand © Chartier-Corbasson
Côté rue, l’immeuble se déforme et se gonfle pour occuper le maximum d’espace afin d’offrir les logements les plus grands possible. Les volets font façade. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand © Chartier-Corbasson

 

 

Chacun des 450 panneaux de bois et résine stratifiés est fixé dans un cadre en acier laqué. © Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
Chacun des 450 panneaux de bois et résine stratifiés est fixé dans un cadre en acier laqué. © Chartier-Corbasson © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand


La modélisation informatique a permis d’ajuster à l’échelle 1 l’image à reproduire en fonction des volets et de leurs vissages. L’impression a été effectuée selon une trame de 27 cm. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand
La modélisation informatique a permis d’ajuster à l’échelle 1 l’image à reproduire en fonction des volets et de leurs vissages. L’impression a été effectuée selon une trame de 27 cm. © Romain Meffre & Yves Marchand

 

Architectes : Chartier-Corbasson
Programme : 12 logements : 5 T2, 5 T3, 1 studio, 1 T4 en duplex et un parking de 12 places
Surface : 932 m2
Livraison : Mars 2017

 

 

Réagissez à cet article