2

News

Books : AA’s selection – June 2019

AA shares with you his selection of books: architecture, urbanism, art, essays, exhibition catalogues…
To read in issue No. 431, still available on our online shop.

© Rizzoli
© Rizzoli

Claude Parent, Visionary architect
Contributions par Donatien Grau, Pascale Blin, Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel, Odile Decq, Wolf D. Prix, Frédéric Migayrou, et Azzedine Alaïa, Rizzoli New York
June 2019, 224 p., illus., 69€

Financial Times critic and AA contributor Edwin Heathcote says of Claude Parent’s drawings that “in their ambition they not only presage Daniel Libeskind and Zaha Hadid, they arguably surpass them”. More than three years after the death of the author of the ‘oblique function’ (with the late Paul Virilio), Chloé Parent pays a magnificent tribute to her father by publishing, with the complicity of the architect’s grandson Laszlo Parent, a collection of personal accounts by some of those for whom his influence was crucial, and above all a book containing breathtaking drawings, some of which are published for the first time. A book aimed at enthusiasts and also at anyone who knows just how one person can change the course of a discipline.

 

 

 

© Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, éditions Gallimard, collection Alternatives
© Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, éditions Gallimard, collection Alternatives

Sustainable Design 7, vers une nouvelle éthique pour l’architecture et la ville
Marie-Hélène Contal et Jana Revedin, Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine avec les éditions Alternatives
May 2019, 156 p., illus., 25€

Since its launch in 2007 by Jana Revedin and the Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, which recognises each year five architects who conduct sustainable and innovative practices, has really revealed talents, discovering first-hand some of the greatest names in global architecture. Wang Shu (2007), Alejandro Aravena (2008) and Bijoy Jain (2009) are among its 60 winners. The catalogue of the 2018 award was published last May alongside the 2019 award ceremony. It includes famous and lesser-known figures, including French architects Lacaton & Vassal but also Marta Maccaglia in Peru and Boonserm Premthada in Thailand. An essential collection consisting exclusively of committed professionals.

 

© TC Cuadernos
© TC Cuadernos

Dominique Coulon & Associés, Arquitectura 1996-2019
Sous la direction de Ricardo Meri de la Maza, TC Cuadernos
March 2019, 338 p., illus., 35€

For more than a decade, architects have gained experience in the exercise of the monographic publication, which has become a communication tool as well as a means of summarising thoughts and rhetoric or to collect photos and drawings. Regardless of the goal and the layout, we have been waiting for some time for a publication that brings together documents presenting the work of Dominique Coulon, doubtless one of the most talented of his generation and one of the few French architects able to handle colour as well as volumes.

 

 

 

 

 

© Parenthèses
© Parenthèses

La Fabrique du bonheur
Virginie Picon-Lefebvre, Éditions Parenthèses
April 2019, 256 p., illus., 26€

Architect and urban planner, professor and researcher, Virginie Picon-Lefebvre, who teaches architectural culture and history at the ENSA Paris-Belleville, looks at recreational architecture here. From ski resorts to holiday villages, Jean Balladur’s Grande Motte to Disneyland’s Newport Bay Club Hotel in Marne-la-Vallée by Robert A.M. Stern, these “places of happiness” form a specific typology that reveals the “aspirations and contradictions of society as a whole”

React to this article

2

Actualités

Livres : La sélection d’AA – Juin 2019

Découvrez la sélection de livres d’AA : architecture, urbanisme, art, essai, catalogues d’expositions…
Lectures choisies par L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, à retrouver dans le numéro 431, toujours disponible sur notre boutique en ligne.

© Rizzoli
© Rizzoli

Claude Parent, Visionary architect
Contributions par Donatien Grau, Pascale Blin, Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel, Odile Decq, Wolf D. Prix, Frédéric Migayrou, et Azzedine Alaïa, Rizzoli New York
Juin 2019, 224 p., illus., 69€

Critique d’architecture du Financial Times et contributeur d’AA, Edwin Heathcote dit des dessins de Claude Parent que « dans leur ambition, non seulement présagent‑ils Daniel Libeskind et Zaha Hadid, mais ils les surpassent ». Plus de trois ans après la disparition de l’auteur de la fonction oblique (avec feu Paul Virilio), sa fille Chloé Parent lui rend un magnifique hommage en éditant, avec la complicité du petit-fils de l’architecte Laszlo Parent, un ouvrage réunissant les témoignages de quelques-uns de ceux pour lesquels sont influence fut déterminante, et surtout des dessins à couper le souffle, dont quelques inédits. Un livre destiné aux passionnés mais aussi à quiconque sait combien un seul homme peut changer le cours d’une discipline.

 

 

© Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, éditions Gallimard, collection Alternatives
© Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, éditions Gallimard, collection Alternatives

Sustainable Design 7, vers une nouvelle éthique pour l’architecture et la ville
Marie-Hélène Contal et Jana Revedin, Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine avec les éditions Alternatives
Mai 2019, 156 p., illus., 25€

Dès son lancement en 2007 par Jana Revedin et la Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, le Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, qui récompense chaque année cinq architectes témoignant d’une pratique durable et innovante, a fait office de véritable révélateur de talents, découvrant en avant-première certaines des plus grandes figures de la scène architecturale mondiale. Parmi ses 60 lauréats figurent ainsi Wang Shu (édition 2007), Alejandro Aravena (2008) ou encore Bijoy Jain (2009). Parallèlement à la remise des prix 2019 en mai dernier paraissait le catalogue de l’édition 2018, qui réunit figures connues et moins connues, parmi lesquels les français Lacaton & Vassal mais aussi Marta Maccaglia au Pérou ou Boonserm Premthada en Thaïlande. Une collection incontournable composée exclusivement de personnalités engagées.

 

© TC Cuadernos
© TC Cuadernos

 

Dominique Coulon & Associés, Arquitectura 1996-2019
Sous la direction de Ricardo Meri de la Maza, TC Cuadernos
Mars 2019, 338 p., illus., 35€

Les architectes sont depuis plus d’une décennie rompus à l’exercice de la publication monographique, qui est devenue un outil de communication autant qu’un moyen de synthétiser pensée et discours ou de réunir photos et dessins. Peu importe ici le but et peu importe la mise en forme, cela fait longtemps qu’on attendait un ouvrage réunissant les documents présentant l’oeuvre de Dominique Coulon, sans doute l’un des plus doués de sa génération et l’un des rares architectes français sachant manier la couleur autant que les volumes.

 

 

 

© Parenthèses
© Parenthèses

La Fabrique du bonheur
Virginie Picon-Lefebvre, Éditions Parenthèses
Avril 2019, 256 p., illus., 26€

Architecte et urbaniste, enseignante et chercheuse, Virginie Picon-Lefebvre, qui enseigne l’histoire et la culture architecturales à l’ENSA Paris-Belleville, se penche ici sur l’architecture des loisirs. De stations de ski en villages de vacances, de la Grande Motte de Jean Balladur au Newport Bay Club Hotel de Disneyland à Marne-la-Vallée par Robert A.M. Stern, ces « lieux du bonheur » forment une typologie à part entière, révélatrice « des aspirations et des contradictions d’une société tout entière ».

Réagissez à cet article