© Zhou Ruogu
Bamboo Pavilion, Damushan Area, 2015 © Zhou Ruogu

News

Rural acupuncture, DnA

Songyang is an agricultural county of over 1,400 sq.km in eastern China counting approximately 400 villages along the upper Oujiang River. Since 2013, DnA Design and Architecture has worked on a strategy to develop the region through a sensible yet sustainable method, contrasting with the rush of urban developments.
“Our office was first contacted by Songyang County for a hotel project in a tea plantation, when the county started developing rural tourism”, recalls Xu Tiantian, founder of DnA, a design and architecture practice focusing on cultural and public projects.
And whilst the original hotel project was on hold, the architects were asked to continue advising on the revitalisation of the county. “Without any given programme, we started the research/investigation by talking to the local people”, explains Tiantian. This soon led the architects to develop a minimal, yet effective, intervention guideline, aiming to preserve and respect the local context, and restore the village’s identity. The county authorities agreed to subsidise the project and conduct a first test of the proposed preservation strategy, which entailed reviving traditional far houses through a new public function. “Eventually we came up with the concept of architectural acupunture, which was accepted by the county authorities and led to a systematic collaboration,” says Tiantian. By making use of local materials and techniques, the method engaged and motivated local communities and sparked new businesses ideas in Songyang. DnA themselves worked on over 20 projects in the region in the past five years, including the Bamboo Theatre, the Pingtian Village Centre, the Garden of Relic, the Wang Jing Memorial Hall, the Hakka Museum and the Damushan Tea Resort. 

 

 

 

Bamboo Pavilion, rest and recreation lodges for locals, tea producers and tourists, Damushan, 2015

© Zhou Ruogu
© Zhou Ruogu

 

© Zhou Ruogu

Pine Park Pavilion, pavilion for cyclists and hikers, Huangyu Village, 2017

 

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

Brown Sugar Factory, ateliers de production de sucre, espaces d’expositions, bureaux, Xing Village, 2016

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

Hakka Indenture Museum, “Stone Museum” celebrating the heritage of the Hakka, ancestral population of the Shicang Village area, 2017

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

 


Find the article «Rural acupuncture» written by Andreas Kofler in the 431 – China’s committed architects – of L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, available in our online shop.

 

React to this article

© Zhou Ruogu
Bamboo Pavilion, Damushan Area, 2015 © Zhou Ruogu

Actualités

L’acupuncture rurale de DnA

Le district agricole de Songyang, à l’est de la Chine, s’étend sur plus de 1 400 km2 et compte environ 400 villages répartis sur le cours supérieur de l’Oujiang. Depuis 2013, DnA Design and Architecture, fondée à Pékin en 2004, met en oeuvre une stratégie de développement de la région à partir d’une méthode mesurée et durable, qui contraste avec la frénésie généralisée.

« Le district de Songyang a contacté notre agence dans un premier temps pour réaliser un projet hôtelier au sein d’une plantation de thé, dans le cadre du développement du tourisme rural », se souvient Xu Tiantian, fondatrice de l’agence DnA, spécialisée dans les projets culturels et publics. Mais alors que le projet hôtelier était suspendu, les architectes furent consultés pour revitaliser la zone.

« Nous avons commencé à faire des enquêtes en parlant aux gens sur place, sans aucun programme pré-établi », explique Tiantian. Cela les a vite conduits à mettre en place un fil conducteur minimal, mais efficace, afin de préserver et de respecter le contexte local, et de restaurer l’identité du village. Le district a accepté de subventionner le projet et de faire un premier essai, suivant une stratégie de préservation consistant notamment à relancer des fermes traditionnelles avec de nouvelles fonctions collectives. « Nous avons mis au point le concept d’acupuncture architecturale, qui a été accepté par le district et a débouché sur une collaboration systématique », poursuit Tiantian. L’usage de matériaux et de techniques propres au Songyang a permis d’impliquer les communautés locales. Cette méthode a motivé la création de nouvelles activités. Ainsi, DnA a initié plus de 20 projets dans la région ces cinq dernières années, dont le Théâtre de bambou, la Maison villageoise de Pingtian, le Jardin des vestiges, le mémorial Wang Jing, le musée Hakka et la Maison du thé de Damushan.

Bamboo Pavilion, pavillons de repos et loisirs à destinations des habitants, producteurs de thé et touristes, Damushan, 2015

© Zhou Ruogu
© Zhou Ruogu
© Zhou Ruogu
© Zhou Ruogu

 

Pine Park Pavilion, pavillon pour cyclistes et randonneurs, Huangyu Village, 2017

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

Brown Sugar Factory, ateliers de production de sucre, espaces d’expositions, bureaux, Xing Village, 2016

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling

 

Hakka Indenture Museum, « musée de pierre » célébrant le patrimoine des Hakka, population ancestrale de la région Shicang Village, 2017

© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling
© Wang Ziling


Retrouvez l’intégralité de l’article « Acupuncture rurale », par Andreas Kofler dans le numéro 431 « Chine, régénérations » de L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, disponible sur notre
 boutique en ligne.

 

Réagissez à cet article