News

“The intensity of pedestrian solicitation”: Philippe Trétiack’s quid

@Astrid di Crollalanza
@Astrid di Crollalanza

Architect and urban planner by training, Philippe Trétiack is a journalist and writer. He has been a reporter for thirty years and collaborates with several magazines, including Vanity Fair, ELLE Décoration and Air France Magazine … As an author, he has published some twenty books including Faut-il pendre les architectes ? (Seuil, 2001), De notre envoyé spécial (Editions de l’Olivier, 2015), and L’Architecture à toute vitesse (Seuil, 2016). In AA’s pages, Philippe Trétiack decodes, with a certain sense of humour, the architectural jargon in the Quid ? column. In AA 427, he dives into “The intensity of pedestrian solicitation”.

The more time passes, the worse it gets! Paris City Hall’s newspeak is reaching dizzy heights of nonsense, inciting wailing and gnashing of teeth. It must be said that our city councillors shy away from nothing. So, offering a welcome helping hand in our often laborious journeys around town, here they are decked out with an expansive idea: the intensity of pedestrian solicitation. But chère Madame, what on earth does it mean? Encouraging us to put one foot in front of the other? A continuum of façades and avenues who simply by means of their form engage any old passer-by to get in gear, and pronto? A natural inclination from air saturated with dinitrogen and argon to increase numbers of hikers? What a wonderful image – Parisians attacking the North face of Boulevard Thing-um-ma-bob and already undertaking the descent of the Rue Whats-its-name… Solicited, join your friends!

But we are already solicited all the time, and I’m not sure that we want any more. I am endlessly harangued by double-glazing sales people flogging PVC windows, calling from companies whose frequently natural-world names could well have been inspired by the earthy imagination of today’s Parisian authorities. Frankly, when it comes to solicitations I have had my fill. But OK, let’s think about it. Imagine for a moment a space devoid of any intensity of pedestrian solicitation, as essayist Philippe Muray tried to do by imagining a world without catalysts for atmosphere. I must admit, it’s a horrifying thought. Streets, avenues, all in silence. Nothing to give you that impetus that distinguishes citizens from cockroaches or cabbages. A necropolis, Sunday every day. Ignoring all the warnings issued by universities, cardiologists, neurologists, nephrologists, there is nothing to get your heart racing.

A living nightmare. Yet isn’t it precisely this that the Mairie de Paris has been urging us into, incessantly and everywhere? To take up bicycling, convivial transport for sedate areas. And here again the truth rises to the surface, unremitting, vibrating, quivering. By obliging moderation, by promoting pootling bicycles, submitted to the softly-softly heavy artillery of our moralising authorities, Parisians are rotting away. They are giving up. They are slowing down, slumping, withering away. Realising their dire mistake, the creative minds of the Hôtel de Ville are rushing to their study labs. From their still warm benches they have come up with an antidote: the intensity of pedestrian solicitation. The last resort, the last chance, kind of like a sort of you know electric shock in a frog’s leg. A last spasm before closing time. Under their baton we will end up bedbound and enfeebled. The capital had its périphérique, its ring road, now it has its periphrasis. Knowing the congestion of the former you can well imagine the thrombosis of the latter. There’s every chance it will be powerful.

Find Philippe Trétiack’s Quid in L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui Nr. 427, available here.

React to this article

Actualités

« Intensité de sollicitation piétonne », le Quid de Philippe Trétiack

@Astrid di Crollalanza
@Astrid di Crollalanza

Architecte et urbaniste de formation, Philippe Trétiack est journaliste et écrivain. Grand reporter depuis trente ans, il collabore avec plusieurs magazines, dont Vanity Fair, ELLE Décoration, Air France Magazine… Auteur, il a publié une vingtaine d’ouvrages dont Faut-il pendre les architectes ? (Seuil, 2001), De notre envoyé spécial (Éditions de l’Olivier, 2015), et L’Architecture à toute vitesse (Seuil, 2016). Dans les pages de L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, Philippe Trétiack décrypte avec humour le jargon de l’architecture dans la rubrique Quid ? Pour le N°427, il s’attaque à l’expression « Intensité de sollicitation piétonne ».

 

Plus ça va… et plus ça va comme ça ! La novlangue de la mairie de Paris titillant des sommets stratosphériques de ridicule, elle suscite désormais ruades et quolibets. Il faut dire que nos édiles ne reculent devant rien. Ainsi, et pour donner à nos déplacements souvent laborieux un coup de fouet salutaire, les voilà affublés d’un concept à rallonges : « l’intensité de sollicitation piétonne. » Dame, de quoi s’agit-il ? D’un encouragement à mettre un pied devant l’autre ? D’un continuum de façades et d’avenues qui, par la seule vertu de leurs qualités formelles, engagerait le quidam à se mettre en branle, et fissa ? D’une disposition naturelle de l’air saturé de diazote et d’argon à générer des randonneurs ? Quelle image magnifique alors que celle de ces Parisiens lancés dans l’ascension de la face nord du boulevard Bidule et s’attaquant déjà à la descente de la rue Duschmoll… Sollicité, rejoins tes camarades ! Des sollicitations, nous en subissons pourtant déjà beaucoup et il n’est pas certain que nous désirions en supporter une de plus. Je suis déjà tanné par Terres de Fenêtre dont le nom de baptême semble tout droit surgi des rhizomes cérébraux des fonctionnaires hildalgistes, et tout ça pour me coller des volets PVC !

Alors, question sollicitation, j’ai mon compte. Mais bon, prenons sur nous. Essayons un instant d’imaginer un espace dénué de toute « intensité de sollicitation piétonne » comme Philippe Muray l’avait tenté hier en imaginant un monde sans « agent d’ambiance ». Je le concède, c’est effrayant. Des rues, des avenues, un silence. Rien pour vous donner cette impulsion qui distingue le citoyen de la blatte et du chou. Un climat de nécropole, un dimanche à toute heure. Au mépris de toutes les mises en garde de la Faculté, cardiologues, neurologues, néphrologues, rien pour inciter le bon gars à secouer ses mandibules. Un cauchemar. Pourtant n’était-ce pas là précisément ce à quoi la mairie de Paris nous conviait sans cesse et partout ? D’adopter la pédale douce, la mobilité conviviale en secteur apaisé ? Et là encore, la vérité surgit, implacable, vibratoire et frissonnante. À force d’injonctions à la modération, à coups de promotion du vélo mou, au terme d’infantilisations conduites à la Grosse Bertha par nos élus moralisateurs, le Parisien est en voie de déliquescence. Il obtempère. Il ralentit, il s’affaisse et dépérit. Réalisant alors l’erreur funeste, les créatifs de l’Hôtel de Ville se sont rués dans leurs labos. Et de leurs paillasses encore fumantes, ils ont extrait un antidote : « la sollicitation d’intensité piétonne. » Le recours ultime, la dernière chance, style décharge électrique dans la cuisse de grenouille. Un dernier spasme avant la fermeture. Sous leur férule, on finira grabataire ou crapaud. La capitale avait ses périphériques, elle a maintenant ses périphrases. Quand on connaît la congestion des premiers, on imagine la thrombose des seconds. Elle risque d’être intense.

Retrouvez le Quid de Philippe Trétiack dans le numéro 427 d’AA, disponible ici.

Réagissez à cet article