"Bègles et les machines urbaines", Rosalie Robert, Pauline Percheron, projet mentionné © Bègles et les machines urbaines, Europan France
"Bègles et les machines urbaines", Rosalie Robert, Pauline Percheron, mentioned project © Bègles et les machines urbaines, Europan France

News

Europan14: Designing productive cities

Since 1988, the Europan competition has been launched simultaneously in different European countries, inviting participants to develop a common subject drawn from urban situations proposed by various European cities. An architectural and urban ideas competition, sometimes followed by some projects completions, Europan is a contest for young architects, urban and landscape designers from all over Europe. 

In December 2018, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui released an “AA Perspectives” special issue devoted to the 14th edition of this competition which dealt with the theme “Productive Cities”. Find below the foreword of this special edition, signed by French sociologist Jean-Louis Violeau, who looks back at 30 years of the European competition.

 

"Permacultures urbaines", David Palussière, Camille Tréchot-Jasnault, Angers, mention spéciale © Permaculture urbaines - Europan France
“Permacultures urbaines”, David Palussière, Camille Tréchot-Jasnault, Angers, special mention © Permaculture urbaines – Europan France

In the aftermath of 1968, when the government found itself short of ways to evaluate and guarantee the quality of the architects it employed, it set up a series of competitions and promotional processes. Among these was the PAN, the Programme Architecture Nouvelle (1972), Europan’s ancestor, which quickly went on to replace the Prix de Rome. The name of the game meant to rally the troops was: from ideas to realisation. It was too good for architects to resist and they all gave into it, from Jean Nouvel to Christian de Portzamparc, not forgetting Henri Ciriani and Roland Castro.

Past this phase of reconstruction, the year 1989 marked the time when the competition was opened to European applicants; it’s easy to understand how, with walls and boundaries disappearing, it moved with the times. Thirty years later, where are we? Since the time of Nicolas Michelin, Jean-Patrice Calori, Pierre Gautier and Tania Concko, Nicole Garo and Marc Boixel, Catherine Rannou and Isabelle Devin, Béal & Blanckaert, Lanoire & Courrian, Philippon & Kalt, Pietro Cremonini, François Defrain, Armand Nouvet, Gilles Delalex, TVK, DLW, to name but a few, generation after generation of architects have piled up, very much forming a solid list of names. A Europan ‘school’ is in evidence. Europan, remains more than ever a passport, a guide and a label, in short, a guarantee of quality that is recognised by the State and local authorities.

Intellectual, Parisian, European

Strictly speaking, there is no specific Europan laureate ‘type’. On the other hand, it is determined by experiences, lives or rather career paths with their continuous, key elements, their points of rupture and their bifurcations. In our 2008 appraisal of the first 20 years of the competition, on average the laureates were barely 30 when they obtained their first commission. The middle of this period, from 1999 to 2001, was marked by very intense activity. In general, architecture offices were set up in the wake of this.

Most of these architects had been through Paris schools first, including work experience abroad, preferably in Europe. ‘The European adventure’ then took on a very real meaning for them – between the Berlin Wall and the Maastricht referendum. A meaning probably made more tangible, more immediately perceptible, noticeable and concrete than it ever would be thereafter, session after session.

At the time of our survey, two thirds of the architects were already teaching.  If one wanted to draw the main features characterising this diverse, not to say disparate group, this is probably a good place to start: with the link between practice, teaching, writing and theory; the junction between knowledge, know-how, thinking and project; and the ever-relevant element of teaching as ‘second profession’.

Moving into action?

Being a PAN laureate in the 1970s and 1980s meant a sure commission; not always on the site presented for the competition itself, but somewhere at any rate. For instance, a social housing project of decent size, say between 20 and 30 apartments, in partnership with one of the numerous social housing authorities or landlords, part of the ‘club’ of clients who were partners of the competition under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture. Once decentralisation was implemented, this link became more tenuous with each new session, but thanks to its multinational character, Europan was able to up its game. Even if we were very far from the now common phenomenon of sales prior to completion of construction, you could see that, from top (nationally) to ground (locally), housing authorities gradually distanced themselves.

Sustained by the first sessions alone, the link that connected the competition with construction is very tenuous today. You only need to examine the particularly combative career path which Atelier Georges has been on over the past few years: Europan 11 laureate in 2011, with Laetitia Lafont, for the 105-hectare site of the future urban development zone south of Savenay train station – a railway junction situated at the mouth of the Loire estuary and across the Sillon de Bretagne – the post-university collective set up his practice straight after winning the award, and set off on the painful ascending path of consultations. Braving delay after delay for many and various reasons, Atelier George didn’t give up and ran a series of public consultations instead, faithfully reported in the local press. They were indeed commissioned to manage an urban project (in fact, the commission was given to Laetitia Lafont, in partnership with Atelier Georges), but the risk of flooding might eventually sink ‘Savenay II’. Reassuringly however, it’s worth noting that, 150 years after the station was built, in 1857, the south-side access has now been opened; the SNCF (French national railway company) having taken nearly two years to extend its underground tunnel. Where there’s a will, there’s a way.

"Jurassic Parks", Altitude 35 (Clara Loukkal, Benoît Barnoud), Besançon, projet lauréat © Altitude 35 - Europan France
“Jurassic Parks”, Altitude 35 (Clara Loukkal, Benoît Barnoud), Besançon, winning project © Altitude 35 – Europan France

Not easily discouraged, Atelier Georges went on to submit a new project for the 12th session of the competition, closer to home this time – they had settled in Paris’ 20th arrondissement – right on the Saclay site. Bingo: in 2013, they won again. Meanwhile, Laetitia Laffont had moved away from Atelier Georges’ partners Thibault Barbier, Aurélien Delchet, Mathieu Delorme, Thomas Nouailler and Yvan Okotnikoff. Most of them had either studied or worked in organisations that had strong ties with the Europan ‘network’, from the Obras office (1994 laureates Marc Bigarnet and Frédéric Bonnet) to the DSA urban planners and architects of the ENSA (École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture) of Paris-Belleville and the ENSAVT of Marne-la-Vallée. Having been in such good hands, they duly noted that nowadays, “the city goes well beyond the scope envisaged by its designers”, in order to define “the campus-city as a framework for constant negotiations” – “since everything is created by the many”, “since nothing is certain”, “since nothing is exclusively human”.

Laureate of the French Young Urban Planners Award in 2014, the collective now presents itself as a “multi-disciplinary platform of exchange around the building of cities and the wider area”. While on a roll, they submitted their third proposal to Europan 13 – with tremendous success: their OUvroir de LIeux POtentielssaw them stand out again, and being commended, at the end of 2015 in Montreuil (nearer their office still) – an obvious location since it’s in Montreuil that “initiatives proliferate and the city is being built collectively”. Atelier Georges has been re-investing this experience of the collective in other parts of the country, for example in Nantes (where they took their first ‘solo’ steps) with the residential conversion of the vast site (1,700 flats announced) that housed the former Mellinet barracks, right in the centre of town. Together with their experienced elders, the Treuttel brothers of Atelier TGTFP (themselves PAN 11 laureate in 1979, for the renovation of villas in Gagny) and Stéphane Pourrier, Atelier Georges ran the consulting phase with the Bellastock collective, and project-managed the new district’s public spaces.

Taking into account that several members of Atelier Georges, either regular or permanent, had already individually taken part in Eupopan’s 9th and 10th sessions, a Europan ‘school’ is in evidence. Indeed, although it may no longer give direct access to project management Europan remains perhaps more than ever a passport, a guide and a label, something like a potential ‘opener’, in short, a guarantee of quality that is (always) recognised by the State and local authorities. It is, to use German sociologist Axel Honneth’s concept, a form of recognition, where the practical connexion with oneself is constructed through the connexion to others: to win this award enables the laureate to build up a network, in other words to make themselves known. Today, each HMOnp architect knows that he/she is required to do this if they want to make a name for themselves one day. This competition therefore remains a catalyst for architects’ careers; but one that reflects society as a whole, the latter no longer being as clearly delineated as it was for our predecessors. To echo the theme of the 12th edition – the adaptable city – well, the young generation will adapt!

Jean Louis Violeau

This “AA Perspectives” special issue is available in bookshops and on our online store.

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

React to this article

"Bègles et les machines urbaines", Rosalie Robert, Pauline Percheron, projet mentionné © Bègles et les machines urbaines, Europan France
"Bègles et les machines urbaines", Rosalie Robert, Pauline Percheron, projet mentionné © Bègles et les machines urbaines, Europan France

Actualités

Europan 14, concevoir des villes productives

Depuis 1988, le concours Europan est lancé simultanément dans plusieurs pays d’Europe, autour d’un thème commun et à partir de situations urbaines proposées par des villes européennes. Concours d’idées d’architecture et d’urbanisme, parfois suivi de réalisations, Europan s’adresse aux jeunes architectes, urbanistes et paysagistes de toute l’Europe.

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui consacre un hors-série « AA Perspectives » à la 14e édition de ce concours, articulée autour du thème « Villes productives »,  Retrouvez ci-après le préambule de cette édition spéciale, signé du sociologue Jean-Louis Violeau, qui dresse un bilan de cette compétition européenne, créée il y a déjà 30 ans.

 

"Permacultures urbaines", David Palussière, Camille Tréchot-Jasnault, Angers, mention spéciale © Permaculture urbaines - Europan France
« Permacultures urbaines », David Palussière, Camille Tréchot-Jasnault, Angers, mention spéciale © Permaculture urbaines – Europan France

Lorsque l’État se trouva soudain, au terme des années 68, en mal de repères pour évaluer et garantir la qualité des architectes qu’il faisait travailler sur ses deniers, il mit en place une série de concours et de formules promotionnelles. Parmi eux, l’ancêtre d’Europan, le Programme Architecture Nouvelle (1972), bien nommé PAN. PAN, PAN, le Prix de Rome ! Avec un mot d’ordre appelé à mobiliser : des idées à la réalisation. Aucun architecte n’y résista et tous passèrent par là, de Jean Nouvel à Christian de Portzamparc sans oublier Henri Ciriani et Roland Castro. Un texte de Jean-Louis Violeau.

Passée cette phase de reconstruction, l’année 1989 sonna l’heure de l’élargissement européen du concours et l’on comprend facilement comment, les murs chutant, il y eut concordance des temps. Trente ans plus tard, où en sommes-nous ? Depuis les Nicolas Michelin, Jean-Patrice Calori, Pierre Gautier et Tania Concko, Nicole Garo et Marc Boixel, Catherine Rannou et Isabelle Devin, Béal & Blanckaert, Lanoire & Courrian, Philippon & Kalt, Pietro Cremonini, François Defrain, Armand Nouvet, Gilles Delalex, TVK, DLW et j’en passe, les générations s’y trouvent désormais sérieusement empilées. Il se dessine clairement une « école » Europan. Elle demeure plus que jamais un passeport, un guide et un label, le gage d’une « qualité » reconnue par l’État et les collectivités.

Intellectuels, parisiens, européens

S’il n’y a pas à proprement parler de « condition » de lauréat d’Europan, il s’en dessine en revanche des expériences, des vies ou plutôt des trajectoires avec leurs lignes de forces et de continuité, leurs points de fracture et leurs bifurcations. Dans notre bilan des 20 premières années du concours, en 2008, les lauréats avaient en moyenne hérité de leur première commande à 30 ans tout juste, avec au mitan une séquence très dense entre 1999 et 2001. Les agences s’étaient en général montées dans la foulée.

La plupart étaient d’abord passés par des écoles parisiennes, avec déjà un séjour à l’étranger, de préférence en Europe. « L’aventure européenne » avait pu alors revêtir un « vrai » sens pour eux, entre mur de Berlin et référendum pour le traité de Maastricht. Un sens probablement plus palpable, immédiatement perceptible, bien plus sensible et concret qu’il ne l’a été ensuite au fur et à mesure de la succession des sessions.

Lors de notre enquête, les deux-tiers d’entre eux enseignaient déjà. Si l’on souhaite tracer les grands traits d’une identité collective caractérisant ce groupe contrasté, sinon disparate, c’est certainement par là qu’il faut commencer, par ce lien entre pratique, enseignement, écriture et théorie, cette articulation entre savoir, savoir-faire, pensée et projet, avec le trait pertinent de ce « second métier » d’enseignant.

Passage à l’acte ?

Être lauréat du PAN dans les années 1970 et 1980, c’était une commande assurée, pas toujours sur le site du concours mais quelque part en tout cas, une opération de logements sociaux de taille raisonnable, mettons entre 20 et 30, en partenariat avec l’un des nombreux offices ou SA d’HLM qui comptaient parmi le « club » des maîtres d’ouvrage partenaires du concours piloté par le Ministère. La décentralisation installée, ce lien s’effiloche au fil des sessions, et par son caractère multinational, Europan rebat les cartes. Même si nous n’en étions pas encore à la VEFA généralisée, loin de là, par en haut (scènes nationales) et par en bas (localement), les maîtres d’ouvrage prennent leurs distances progressivement.

Maintenu à bout de bras sur les premières sessions, ce fil qui reliait le concours à la construction est aujourd’hui devenu ténu. Il suffit par exemple de s’attarder sur le parcours particulièrement combatif qu’aura mené ces dernières années l’Atelier Georges. Lauréat dès 2011 (Europan 11) – associé à Laetitia Lafont –  sur les 105 hectares de la (future) ZAC de la gare au sud de Savenay, nœud ferroviaire aux portes de l’estuaire de la Loire et à cheval sur le Sillon de Bretagne. Le collectif post-estudiantin se crée dans la foulée pour gravir péniblement le chemin de la concertation. Bravant les phases successives de procrastinations diverses et variées, l’Atelier Georges ne lâche pas la bride, animant moult réunions publiques fidèlement chroniquées par L’Écho de la presqu’île, Ouest-France et Presse Océan. Un mandat de maîtrise d’œuvre urbaine lui a bien été confié (il a été confié à Laetitia Lafont, mandataire, qui s’est associée à l’Atelier Georges), mais les risques d’inondation auront peut-être bien raison de ce « Savenay II ». Enfin soyons rassurés, après un siècle et demi d’existence (la gare entra en service en 1857), un accès sud vient d’être ouvert : la SNCF ayant bien mis près de deux ans pour prolonger son souterrain, il ne faut jamais désespérer.

"Jurassic Parks", Altitude 35 (Clara Loukkal, Benoît Barnoud), Besançon, projet lauréat © Altitude 35 - Europan France
« Jurassic Parks », Altitude 35 (Clara Loukkal, Benoît Barnoud), Besançon, projet lauréat © Altitude 35 – Europan France

Mais loin de se décourager, l’Atelier Georges postule à nouveau pour la session suivante du concours, la 12e, plus près de chez eux cette fois-ci – ils se sont installés dans le XXarrondissement de Paris – sur le site de Saclay. Bingo, lauréats à nouveau en 2013 ! Laetitia Lafont a entre-temps lâché les associés de l’Atelier Georges Thibault Barbier, Aurélien Delchet, Mathieu Delorme, Thomas Nouailler et Yvan Okotnikoff. La plupart ont étudié ou travaillé au sein de structures qui sont toujours restées proches du « réseau » Europan, de l’agence Obras (Marc Bigarnet et Frédéric Bonnet avaient été lauréats en 1994 à Alicante) aux DSA d’architecte-urbaniste de l’ENSA Paris-Belleville et l’ENSAVT de Marne-la-Vallée. À bonne école, ils prennent acte qu’aujourd’hui «la ville déborde très largement ses concepteurs» pour définir « la ville-campus comme un cadre de négociations permanentes», « puisque rien ne se fait seul», « puisque rien n’est certain», « puisque rien n’est uniquement humain ».

Lauréat du Palmarès des Jeunes Urbanistes en 2014, le collectif se présente désormais comme une « plateforme pluridisciplinaire d’échanges permanents autour de la fabrication de la ville et des territoires». Il en profite donc pour postuler une troisième fois à l’occasion d’Europan 13. Carton plein : leur OUvroir de LIeux Potentielsleur permet d’être à nouveau distingués, « cités », fin 2015  – et encore plus près de chez eux – à Montreuil, une évidence puisque c’est là « foisonnent les initiatives et où la ville se construit collectivement ». Cette expérience de construction collective, l’Atelier Geroges la réinvestit désormais un peu partout en France, par exemple à Nantes, dans la région de ses premiers pas « en solo », pour la reconversion résidentielle des vastes emprises (1 700 logements y sont annoncés) de l’ancienne Caserne Mellinet, au cœur de la ville. Aux côtés des aînés chevronnés de l’atelier TGTFP des frères Treuttel (eux-mêmes lauréats du PAN 11 en 1979, pour la reconstruction de villas à Gagny) et avec Stéphane Pourrier, ils y animent la phase de concertation avec le collectif Bellastock et assureront la maîtrise d’œuvre des espaces publics du nouveau quartier.

Si l’on ajoute que plusieurs membres, fidèles ou permanents, de l’Atelier Georges avaient déjà individuellement participé aux sessions 9 et 10 d’Europan, il se dessine clairement au fil de cette trajectoire une « école » Europan. Certes, elle n’ouvre plus directement vers la maîtrise d’œuvre, surtout si l’on considère la maîtrise d’œuvre architecturale, mais elle demeure peut-être plus que jamais un passeport, un guide et un label, quelque chose comme un ouvroir potentiel, bref le gage d’une « qualité » (toujours) reconnue par l’Etat et les collectivités. Une forme de reconnaissance, pour emprunter le concept du sociologue allemand Axel Honneth, où le rapport pratique à soi se constitue dans un rapport à autrui : être lauréat de ce prix permet en effet de se constituer un « réseau », dit plus trivialement se faire connaître, et chaque architecte HMOnp sait aujourd’hui qu’elle/il est tenu de s’en constituer un si elle/il souhaite un jour exercer « en son nom propre ». Ce concours demeure donc un accélérateur de carrière, mais à l’image de la société dans son ensemble : celle-ci n’est plus aussi clairement balisée qu’elle ne l’avait été pour nos aînés. Et pour reprendre le thème de la 12esession d’Europan, la ville adaptable, les jeunes, et bien, ils s’adaptent !


Jean-Louis Violeau

Le hors-série « AA Perspectives. Concevoir des villes productives » est disponible en libraires et sur notre boutique en ligne.

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

Réagissez à cet article