BANDEAU

News

On Jeanne Gang’s bookshelves

She was recently in the news for raising the wages of women employed by her office in order to close the gender pay gap at Studio Gang. American architect Jeanne Gang shares with AA’s readers three of her favourite books.

© Éditions La Découverte
© Éditions La Découverte

 

Facing Gaia: Eight Lectures on the New Climatic Regime
Bruno Latour, La Découverte
Paris, 2015, 400 p.

If you like science, politics, and art, Latour’s lectures bring these disciplines into a conversation to address our time, as characterized by climate change and the Anthropocene. He ponders how we got here and who might respond most effectively and most radically to bring about action. Instead of chapters, you have different lectures that could be read in sequence or independently.

 

 

 

 

© Éditions Gallimard
© Éditions Gallimard

 

Invisible Cities
Italo Calvino, Folio
Paris, 2013, 208 p.

It almost seems like a cliché to recommend this book because it is so well known in architecture schools, but it is truly a work that I enjoy and return to. Calvino’s writing on imaginary cities liberates our thinking and celebrates the fantastic urban imagery that words can elicit. This book, together with Six Memos for the Next Millennium, should be in every architect’s library.

 

 

 

© Penguin Random House
© Penguin Random House

 

Art as Experience
John Dewey, Penguin Random House
New York, 2005, 384 p. 

With today’s overuse of the word ‘experience’ (as it’s become ‘visitor experience’, ‘user experience’, and ‘customer experience’, for example), it is possible to lose the meaning of what an experience actually is. Dewey discusses an art experience as something that helps us develop a new attitude about the ordinary. He also addresses the act of making, which to me is interesting from the perspective of the design process, as the book explores the necessity of tension and a sense of discovery being key components of an art making experience.

 

 

 


You can find this article in the 428th issue of L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui, available in bookstores and on our online store.

In May 2018, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui dedicated an article to the Writers Theatre in Glencoe, designed by Studio Gang. Click on the image below to read the full version.

 

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

 

React to this article

BANDEAU

Actualités

Dans la bibliothèque de Jeanne Gang

Elle a récemment fait parler d’elle pour avoir revu à la hausse les salaires des femmes employées par son agence de façon à réduire les inégalités avec les hommes du Studio Gang. L’architecte américaine Jeanne Gang partage avec AA trois de ses ouvrages de chevet.

© Éditions La Découverte
© Éditions La Découverte


Face à Gaïa, Huit conférences sur le nouveau régime climatique
Bruno Latour, La Découverte
Paris, 2015, 400 p.

Pour les amateurs de science, de politique et d’art, les conférences de Bruno Latour réunissent ces disciplines pour interroger notre époque caractérisée par le changement climatique et l’anthropocène. Il réfléchit à ce qui nous a amenés là, et se demande qui pourrait y apporter une réponse radicale et propre à déclencher l’action. Ce livre n’est pas divisé en chapitres, mais en conférences, que vous pouvez lire à la suite ou de façon indépendante.

 

 

 

© Éditions Gallimard
© Éditions Gallimard

 

Les villes invisibles
Italo Calvino, Folio
Paris, 2013, 208 p.

C’est presque un cliché que de recommander ce livre, tant il est lu dans les écoles d’architecture, mais je l’apprécie vraiment, et j’y retourne souvent. Le texte de Calvino, avec ses villes imaginaires, nous ouvre l’esprit et célèbre au travers des mots une imagerie urbaine fantastique. Tout architecte devrait l’avoir dans sa bibliothèque, à côté de Leçons américaines. Six propositions pour le prochain millénaire.

 

 

 

© Penguin Random House
© Penguin Random House

 

L’art comme expérience
John Dewey, Penguin Random House
New York, 2005, 384 p. 

 

Le mot « expérience » est aujourd’hui galvaudé (les visiteurs, les usagers, les clients y sont conviés…), au point d’en oublier la vraie signification. Pour Dewey, l’expérience artistique permet un changement d’attitude vis-à-vis des choses ordinaires. Il interroge aussi l’acte de création, ce qui m’intéresse particulièrement du point de vue du dessin, car le livre explore la nécessité de la tension dans l’expérience artistique, dont l’une des composantes principales serait aussi la curiosité.

 

 

 

Cet article a été publié dans le numéro 428 d’AA, disponible sur notre boutique en ligne.

En mai 2018, dans le numéro 424, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui consacrait un article au Writers Theatre à Glencoe, réalisé par le Studio Gang. Retrouvez l’intégralité de cette publication en cliquant sur l’image ci-dessous.

 

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

 

Réagissez à cet article