The Publications

Coldefy & Associates’ scales: AA Projects special edition

GIF-COLDEFY

Finesse and monumentality. If one had to sum up Isabel Van Haute and Thomas Coldefy’s talent, it no doubt lies in the art of combining these two words. When the pair, a couple in life as well as in practice, made their entrance onto the architectural stage in 2006, they caused quite a stir. Not through being exuberant, but more because their first project, following an international competition, was the type that others wait for a lifetime: a 42,000-sq. metre Design Institute in Hong Kong, completed in 2011.

And what happened next has been rather conclusive. Coldefy & Associates, now boasting a staff of 50 and three main offices (Lille, Paris, Shanghai), continue to work internationally. But more so, with each new project, the practice is perfecting a narrative that combines urban challenges with attention to detail.

But if Coldefy & Associates have addressed the challenge of scale, it’s probably also, and mainly, because as frequent travellers and keen observers, Isabel Van Haute and Thomas Coldefy know that vertical densification is worth nothing without the urban qualities of the horizontal plan.

From XL to S, these architects used to ultra-urban environments ultimately, and more than anyone, support human-scale cities.

Available since February 19th, this new special issue, edited by the AA’s editorial team proposes a thorough presentation of Coldefy & Associates’ architectural approach. Read here the editorial of this publication.

AA Projects special edition – Coldefy & Associates’ scales, 64 pages, 10€, order here.

COUV SEULE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

React to this article

Actualités

AA Projects : les échelles de Coldefy & Associés

GIF-COLDEFY

Monumentalité et délicatesse. S’il fallait résumer le talent d’Isabel Van Haute et Thomas Coldefy, c’est sans doute dans l’art de combiner ces deux termes. Lorsque ce couple à la ville comme à la scène fit son entrée dans le paysage architectural en 2006, ce fut avec grand bruit. Non pas tant en vertu d’une nature exubérante, mais parce que leur première réalisation, issue d’un concours international, est de celles que d’autres attendent toute une vie : un Institut de Design, celui de Hong Kong, 42 000 m2 livrés en 2011.

Et la suite est plutôt concluante : Coldefy & Associés, qui compte aujourd’hui 50 collaborateurs et trois adresses principales (Lille, Paris, Shanghai), continue à oeuvrer sur la scène internationale. De plus, de projet en projet, l’agence peaufine une écriture qui marie enjeux urbains et soin du détail.

Si Coldefy & Associés relève le pari de l’échelle, c’est sans doute aussi, surtout, parce qu’en grands voyageurs et fins observateurs, Isabel Van Haute et Thomas Coldefy savent que la densification verticale ne vaut rien sans les qualités urbaines du plan horizontal. 

De XL à S, ces architectes qui ont l’habitude de contextes hyper-urbains sont in fine plus que quiconque partisans de villes à échelle humaine. 

En librairies depuis le 19 février, ce nouveau hors-série piloté la rédaction d’AA propose une présentation approfondie de la démarche de l’agence Coldefy & Associés. Découvrez ici l’édito de cette publication.

 

Hors-série AA Projects –Les échelles de Coldefy & Associés, 64 pages, 10€, à commander ici.

COUV SEULE

 

Réagissez à cet article