Les Hauts Plateaux, second phase © Christophe Hutin
Les Hauts Plateaux, second phase © Christophe Hutin

News

Christophe Hutin, back to Bègles

Innovation in social housing? This complex equation is one that sometimes resolves in the meeting of a committed architect and an enlightened elected official. The first phase of “Les Haut Plateaux”, designed by Christophe Hutin, was completed in 2015 in Bègles, South of France. This project serves as an example that is both singular and symptomatic of this fragile relationship, which can change from one moment to the next. For AA, Adrien Poullain tells the story of this promising project, “supposed to reconcile the qualities of individual housing with those of the collective”.

The story begins in 2008. French architect Christophe Hutin is in South Africa, working on the challenge of access to housing, and planning responses to informal settlements, in Soweto. He realises how binary and uniform European models are regarding housing. On one hand, buildings stack one identical apartment onto another, and on the other, it means arranging individual houses across kilometres of land, resulting in urban sprawl. “When you’re looking at the housing subject, answers tend to two extremes: ultra-individualism or ultra-collectivism”, says the architect. On his return to France in 2010, Hutin went on to develop a theoretical model of vertical subdivision, intended to reconcile the qualities of individual housing with those of the collective: grouped residential units that pool services and drastically reduce their building footprint. The design he produced consisted of a minimalist concrete structure that integrates bulk utilities and distribution, leaving inhabitants with the freedom to construct their own homes within a limited volume. For Hutin, self-built homes are an opportunity to “give architecture back to the inhabitants”, but also a way of lowering the price of housing in a real estate context that has become unreasonable. […]

Read the full version of this interview in AA’s 433rd issue – Social Housing, a French exception ?, available on our online shop.

Collage, © Christophe Hutin
Les Hauts Plateaux © Christophe Hutin

This project is reminiscent of the next Venice Biennale of Architecture thematic: “How will we live together?”. Christophe Hutin and the members of Learning from, the workshop he co-founded, have been nominated commissioners of the French pavilion. The team proposes an exhibition named “Communities at Work”, which explores how people participate in the “joyful” metamorphosis of their living environment and daily life.

In AA’s December 2009 issue, Christophe Hutin and the jazzman Bernard Lubat spoke about politics, architecture and improvisation regarding The Estaminet, an old café restaurant-dancehall renovated by the architect, in Uzeste, South-West of France. To him, « Architecture must serve something. It is not an end in itself. We have created magnificent buildings which are worth a lot of money and in which nothing happens. This is what needs to be judged. It is not the aesthetic quality. Architecture should question the human, social, ecological… ».

Please click on the picture to read the full article.

UZESTE---ENG
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

React to this article

Les Hauts Plateaux, deuxième phase © Christophe Hutin
Les Hauts Plateaux, deuxième phase © Christophe Hutin

Actualités

Les Hauts Plateaux par Christophe Hutin

L’innovation dans le logement social ? L’équation, complexe, trouve parfois sa résolution dans la rencontre entre un architecte engagé et un élu éclairé. Le projet des Hauts Plateaux, à Bègles, dont la première phase a été livrée en 2015 par l’architecte Christophe Hutin, est un exemple à la fois singulier et symptomatique de cette relation fragile, capable de basculer à tout moment. Pour AA, Adrien Poullain retrace l’histoire d’une idée prometteuse, « censée concilier les qualités du logement individuel avec celles du collectif ».

L’histoire commence en 2008. Alors que l’architecte français Christophe Hutin travaille en Afrique du Sud sur les problématiques d’accès au logement et de résorption des bidonvilles de Soweto, il prend conscience combien la conception européenne du logement est binaire et standardisée. D’un côté, il n’est question que d’empilement d’appartements identiques en immeubles, de l’autre, de juxtaposition de maisons individuelles sur des kilomètres, qui aboutit au phénomène d’étalement urbain. « En abordant la question du logement, on tombe invariablement dans deux extrêmes : l’ultra collectivisme ou l’ultra-individualisme », souligne l’architecte. De retour en France en 2010, il développe un modèle théorique de lotissement vertical, censé concilier les qualités du logement individuel avec celles du collectif : des logements pavillonnaires groupés qui mutualisent les services et limitent drastiquement leur emprise au sol. Son dessin ? Une structure en béton minimaliste intégrant les réseaux et les distributions, laissant la liberté aux habitants de construire leur propre logement dans un volume restreint. L’autoconstruction est, pour Christophe Hutin, l’opportunité de « rendre l’architecture aux habitants », mais aussi un moyen de baisser les prix de sortie des logements dans un contexte immobilier devenu déraisonnable. […]


Retrouvez l’intégralité de cet article dans le n°433 d’AA – Logement social, une exception française ?, disponible sur notre boutique en ligne.

Collage, © Christophe Hutin
Les Hauts Plateaux, deuxième phase du projet © Christophe Hutin

Une réalisation qui n’est pas sans rappeler la thématique de la prochaine biennale d’architecture de Venise   : « Comment vivrons-nous ensemble ? », à l’occasion de laquelle Christophe Hutin et les membres l’atelier Learning from, dont il est co-fondateur, ont été nommés commissaires du pavillon français. L’équipe propose une exposition intitulée « Les communautés à l’œuvre », qui étudie la manière dont les habitants participent à la métamorphose, heureuse, de leur cadre de vie et de leur quotidien.

En 2009, dans le numéro de décembre qui signait la relance de la revue, Christophe Hutin et le musicien de jazz Bernard Lubat discutaient de politique, d’architecture et d’improvisation autour du projet de L’Estaminet, un ancien dancing-café-restaurant à Uzeste, en Gironde, rénové par l’architecte : « L’architecture doit être au service de quelque chose. Elle n’est pas une fin en soi. On fait des bâtiments magnifiques qui valent très cher et dans lesquels il ne se passe rien. C’est cela qu’il faut juger. Ce n’est pas l’esthétique. L’architecture doit questionner l’humain, le social, l’écologie… ».

Pour lire l’article, cliquer sur l’image ci-dessous.

© AA n°374
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

 

Réagissez à cet article