Gensler design studio's office © Johan Dehlin
Gensler design studio's office © Johan Dehlin

Actualités

ATELIER: a collaborative furniture solution by Fantoni and Gensler’s design studio

Conceived as a response to the everchanging landscape of workplaces, ATELIER is an adaptive furniture solution. Reactive to current trends in workplace culture, it successfully combines a multiplicity of spatial functions.

Gensler studio's office © Johan Dehlin
Gensler studio’s office © Johan Dehlin

THE SPECIAL PARTNERSHIP BETWEEN FANTONI AND GENSLER

When Gensler decided to move its European headquarters to Wapping in East London, the firm undertook a lengthy research to find a furniture solution that would suit the creative needs of its 240+ talented people.

As Philippe Paré, Design Director at Gensler explains, ‘we aimed to create a flexible and adaptive environment, with very little fixed space, giving employees the power to make the space their own. Agile working is a mindset. It’s about giving people the choice and freedom to choose the best place to work. Space plays a part, but it’s not what matters most – it’s about adopting a new way of thinking and, in turn, adopting new behaviours. Therefore, furniture is one of the most important enablers for successful agile working’.

Having failed to find a product on the market that reflected this way of working, Gensler established a partnership with Fantoni, which led to the development of ATELIER, a highly flexible furnishing solution that successfully combines a number of spatial functions, while also offering durability and economic efficiency.

A MODULAR STRUCTURE AND A PANEL OF INGENIOUS TOOLS

Atelier00003

pinboard_FANTONI-ATELIER
Thanks to its modular structure, which can be effortlessly adjusted at will, the ATELIER collection boosts office planning and management by offering an attractive, practical and creative work environment. With ATELIER, the bookcase changes the architecture of offices by becoming an architectural feature and the central element around which all the other furniture develops.
The collection is then composed with several tools. Like for example the high tables, ideal solutions for informal meetings and focus areas, or the double sided pinboard which is already iconic. It is made with a cork-covered side and a write-and-wipe laminated other one. When it is complete with notes or a mood board of materials, it can be carried and hooked directly onto tubular metal structure of the bookcase as well as on the mobile board.

QUESTIONING THE NEW WAYS OF WORKING

In addition to offering flexibility, ATELIER helps to bring different teams together, and facilitates greater collaboration and easier configuration of spaces. The layout is left as open as possible, spurning individual offices in favour of a design that empower people to create together and always be in beta mode.

React to this article

Gensler © Johan Dehlin
Bureaux de Gensler © Johan Dehlin

Actualités

ATELIER, une solution de mobilier évolutif par Fantoni et le studio Gensler

Conçu comme réponse aux aménagements de bureaux qui ne cessent de changer, ATELIER est une solution de mobilier évolutif. En phase avec les tendances actuelles dans le milieu du travail, il combine avec succès une multiplicité de fonctions spatiales.

Bureaux de Gensler © Johan Dehlin
Bureaux de Gensler © Johan Dehlin

Un partenariat privilégié entre Fantoni et Gensler

Lorsque l’agence d’architecture et de design américaine Gensler a décidé d’installer son siège européen dans le quartier de Wapping à l’Est de Londres, la société a entrepris une large reflexion sur la solution de mobilier qui répondrait aux besoins créatifs de plus de 240 de ses collaborateurs.

Comme l’explique Philippe Paré, directeur du design chez Gensler, « nous avons cherché à créer un environnement flexible et adaptable, avec très peu d’espaces fixes, en donnant aux employés le pouvoir de s’approprier l’espace. L’agile working est un état d’esprit. Il s’agit de donner aux gens la liberté de choisir le meilleur endroit pour travailler. L’espace joue un rôle non négligeable, mais ce n’est non plus pas ce qui importe le plus – il s’agit d’adopter une nouvelle façon de penser et, par conséquent, de nouveaux comportements. C’est pourquoi le mobilier est l’un des principaux facteurs de réussite de l’agile working »

N’ayant pas trouvé chaussure à leur pied sur le marché, Gensler a choisi de concevoir son propre mobilier en partenariat avec la firme italienne Fantoni. La collection ATELIER en est le fruit : une solution d’ameublement très flexible qui combine avec succès plusieurs fonctions spatiales, tout en offrant durabilité et efficacité économique.

Une structure modulaire et un panel d’outils ingénieux

Atelier00003

pinboard_FANTONI-ATELIER

Grâce à sa structure modulaire, qui peut être ajustée à volonté et sans effort, la collection ATELIER dynamise la planification et la gestion des espaces de travail tout en offrant un environnement attrayant, pratique et créatif. Avec ATELIER, la bibliothèque devient un élément architectural central autour duquel se déploient tous les autres meubles.

La collection est composée de plusieurs outils. Par exemple, les tables hautes, idéales pour organiser des réunions informelles, ou le tableau d’affichage double face, déjà devenu un indispensable. Il est composé d’une face recouverte de liège pour punaiser ses idées et d’une autre face laminée pour écrire et effacer. Lorsqu’il est rempli, il peut être transporté, accroché directement sur la structure métallique tubulaire de la bibliothèque ou sur d’autres éléments de la collection.

Questionner les nouvelles manières de travailler

En plus d’offrir de la flexibilité, ATELIER invite les collaborateurs à se réunir et facilite les échanges, le tout dans une configuration d’espace optimisée et apaisée. L’aménagement est laissé le plus ouvert possible, délaissant les bureaux individuels au profit d’un design qui incite à la co-création, toujours en mode bêta.

Réagissez à cet article