© Arata Isozaki / L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
Arata Isozaki, serigraphy for the Daniel Templon Foundation project in Fréjus, 1986 © Arata Isozaki

News

Arata Isozaki, Pritzker Prize 2019

After Balkrishna Doshi in 2018 and RCR office in 2017, Japanese architect Arata Isozaki has received the 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize. The most prestigious architecture prize of all is awarded each year to an architect for his significant achievement.

Born in 1931, Arata Isozaki worked during his early years with Kenzo Tange. In 1962 he got involved in the Metabolism movement. His article « City Demolition Industry, Inc. » published in 1962 highlighted his concern regarding the destruction caused by World War II in his country. “My first experience of architecture was the void of architecture, and I began to consider how people might rebuild their homes and cities.”

In 1963, he established Arata Isozaki & Associates and worked on “redefining mutual exchange between eastern and western societies”, underlines the Pritzker Prize jury. “Isozaki was one of the first Japanese architects to build outside of Japan during a time when western civilizations traditionally influenced the East, making his architecture—which was distinctively influenced by his global citizenry—truly international,” comments Tom Pritzker, Chairman of Hyatt Foundation.

Isozaki has completed more than 100 buildings including the Kitakyushu Municipal Museum of Art (1974, Fukuoka, Japan), the Art Tower Mito (1990, Ibaraki, Japan), the Pala Alpitour stadium in Turin (2006), the Himalayas Art Center (2013, Shanghai), the Allianz Tower (2014, Milan), the Qatar National Convention Centre (2011, Doha) and the Shanghai Symphony Hall (2014, Shanghai).

 

Ceramic Park Mino © Hisao Suzuki
Ceramic Park Mino, Gufu, Japan © Hisao Suzuki

In 1987, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui’s April issue was dedicated to the Japanese scene. The cover presented  one of Isozaki’s serigraphy, untitled “Tsukuka centre in ruins”. In its report, AA presented several major projects, as the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), completed in 1986—Isozaki’s very first international commission—but also the Daniel Templon Foundation, in Fréjus, South of France—a project cancelled by the City in 1992.

Click on the cover to read the articles.

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

React to this article

© Arata Isozaki / L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© Arata Isozaki / L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui

Actualités

Arata Isozaki, Pritzker Prize 2019

Après Balkrishna Doshi en 2018 et RCR en 2017, c’est à l’architecte japonais Arata Isozaki qu’a été décerné le Pritzker Prize 2019. Le plus prestigieux des prix d’architecture récompense chaque année depuis 1979 un architecte pour l’ensemble de son œuvre et son apport à la discipline.

Né en 1931, Arata Isozaki fait ses armes chez Kenzo Tange et, dès 1962, s’engage aux côtés des Métabolistes japonais. Son article « City Demolition Industry, Inc. » publié en 1962 met en lumière les préoccupations d’un architecte marqué par la Seconde Guerre mondiale et les destructions engendrées dans son pays : « Ma première expérience d’architecture fut le vide d’architecture [le vide creusé par la bombe atomique à Hiroshima]. Je me suis alors mis à étudier comment les gens pouvaient reconstruire leur maison et leur ville. »

Il fonde l’agence Arata Isozaki & Associates en 1963 et s’attache dès lors à « redéfinir les échanges mutuels entre les sociétés orientales et occidentales, entre l’Est et l’Ouest », souligne le jury du Pritzker Prize. « Isozaki a été l’un des premiers architectes japonais à construire en dehors du Japon, à une époque où l’Occident exerçait encore une forte influence sur la création orientale », commente Tom Pritzker, président de la Fondation Hyatt.

Aujourd’hui, l’architecte compte à son actif plus d’une centaine de projets réalisés à travers le monde, comme le Kitakyushu Municipal Museum of Art (1974, Fukuoka, Japon), la Art Tower Mito (1990, Ibaraki, Japon), le palais omnisport Pala Alpitour à Turin (2006), le Himalayas Art Center (2013, Shanghai), la tour Allianz (2014, Milan), le Qatar National Convention Centre (2011, Doha) et le Shanghai Symphony Hall (2014).

 

 

Ceramic Park Mino © Hisao Suzuki
Ceramic Park Mino, 2002, Gufu, Japon  © Hisao Suzuki

En 1987, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui consacre son numéro d’avril à la scène japonaise et publie en couverture, une sérigraphie de l’architecte japonais intitulée « Le centre de Tsukuka en ruines ». Dans le dossier qui lui est consacré, sont présentés plusieurs projets d’envergure, comme le Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) de Los Angeles, livré en 1986, qui fut la première commande internationale de l’architecte japonais, mais aussi la fondation Daniel Templon à Fréjus — projet annulé par la Ville en 1992.

Cliquez sur la couverture pour lire l’article.

© L'Architecture d'Aujourd'hui
© L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

Réagissez à cet article