News

AA Perspectives « Global design competitions: shaping a sustainable future »

Lafarge-Holcim-GIF

By encouraging the transition from fiction to reality, the LafargeHolcim Awards and similar prizes are working toward the common good. When, thanks to these prizes, a hydraulic infrastructure rehabilitation project in Mexico is finally accepted by the municipal authorities after being run through an obstacle course; when in India the prize promotes wider uptake of an urban water purification system that can save lives and when it simply offers the possibility of closing a deal with a wary client or encourages a young practice just starting out… It seems crystal clear that in addition to offering a snapshot of our age, architecture prizes such as the LafargeHolcim Awards have a significant impact, sometimes more important than political ones, often based on mere declarations of intent. Therefore, one can only wish for these awards to remain as sustainable as the approaches and projects they support.

Unlike a conventional competition where projects try to push the limits of their own ingenuity, the LafargeHolcim awarded projects are required to deal with external forces. This gives them a different consistency.

Architect, founder of architecture practice Elemental, Providencia, Chile
Member of the Board of the LafargeHolcim Foundation since 2013

In June 2019, on the occasion of the launch of LafargeHolcim Awards 6th cycle, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui dedicates the special issue “Global design competitions; shaping a sustainable future”, to the influence that competitions have on architects’ careers.

AA Perspectives « LafargeHolcim Awards. Shaping a sustainable future », 64 pages, 10€, available on our online store. Read the editorial of this new special issue now.

React to this article

Actualités

AA Perspectives « Global design competitions : construire un avenir durable »

Lafarge-Holcim-GIF

En favorisant le passage de la fiction à la réalité, les LafargeHolcim Awards et leurs homologues font oeuvre de bien commun. Quand, grâce à ces Prix, un projet de réhabilitation d’infrastructure hydraulique au Mexique est enfin, après un parcours du combattant, adoubé par les services municipaux, quand le Prix permet de faire connaître, en Inde, un système d’assainissement urbain qui peut se révéler salvateur, quand il donne tout simplement la possibilité de convaincre un client réticent ou quand il conforte une jeune agence dans son engagement balbutiant… Il apparaît clairement qu’outre offrir un instantané de notre époque, les Prix d’architecture tels que les LafargeHolcim Awards ont un impact non négligeable, plus important parfois que celui de décideurs politiques qui se contentent de déclarations d’intention. On ne peut alors que souhaiter que ces récompenses soient aussi durables que les démarches et les projets qu’elles défendent.

Contrairement aux concours classiques, lors desquels les propositions s’évertuent souvent à repousser les limites de leur propre ingéniosité, les projets récompensés par LafargeHolcim doivent se confronter à des facteurs externes. Cela leur donne une toute autre consistance.

Alejandro Aravena, architecte, Fondateur de l’agence Elemental,
Providencia, Chili, Membre du conseil d’administration de la
Fondation LafargeHolcim depuis 2013.

En juin 2019, à l’occasion du lancement du 6è cycle des LafargeHolcim Foundation Awards, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui consacre l’édition spéciale « Global design competitions : construire un avenir durable » à l’impact que les concours d’architecture exercent sur la carrière des architectes.

AA Perspectives « LafargeHolcim Awards. Construire un avenir durable », disponible depuis juin, 64 pages, 10€, à commander ici.   Découvrez dès maintenant l’édito de cette publication.

Réagissez à cet article