The Magazine

AA Today

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui is an international magazine, decidedly contemporary and open to the disciplines of urbanism, design, art and landscape architecture. Its ambition is to highlight architecture with 6 thematic issues and 3 special editions per year, distributed in France and abroad. Under Jean Nouvel’s direction, the magazine is supported by a prestigious editorial board, composed by architects such as Shigeru Ban, Frank Gehry, Renzo Piano and many others among its members.

The magazine in numbers :
6 issues per year
2 languages French/English
144 pages
9 x 11.8 in
25 euros in newsstands and bookshops
50 000 readers in more than 50 countries
1/3 of the readership outside of France

One magazine, 4 sections :

News : this section presents news concerning architecture, landscape, design, and art, with a selection of recent works such as projects under construction, exhibitions, books, as well as portraits of famous or rising architects.

Reports : this section focuses on the issue’s theme with a selection of international emblematic projects. The Heritage column, a republication of our archives, analyses AA’s ancient publications from a contemporary point of view. The Survey column gives a contextual and economical analysis of the theme of the reports section.

Viewpoints : this sections explores disciplines related to architecture, such as design or contemporary art, and it offers a roadmap of urban travels. A series of interviews show the viewpoints of workers of the contruction industry (property developers, economists, lanscape architects, …)

Trends : this section show in details one kind of product for each issue (facades, glass and energy performance, doors and windows, …) by investigating the expertise of industry specialists and their innovations across a wide selection;

International writers contribute to each AA issue, journalists such as Oliver Wainwwright (The Guardian), Edwin Heathcote (Financial Times), Andrew Ayers (Architectural Review), Catherine Sabbah (Les Echos), and Jean-Philippe Hugron (Le Courrier de l’Architecte).

Graphic designer Laurence Ravoux highlights our editorial content with an elegant layout.

For more information on AA’s history, click on our ”AA Rétro” timeline.

React to this article

La revue

AA Aujourd’hui

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui est une revue internationale, résolument contemporaine et ouverte sur les disciplines de l’urbanisme, du design, des arts et du paysage. Son ambition est d’éclairer l’architecture par le biais de 6 numéros thématiques par an et de trois collections de hors-séries, diffusés en France et à l’étranger. Sous la direction de Jean Nouvel, un comité prestigieux soutient la revue, composé notamment de Shigeru Ban, Patrick Bouchain, Frank Gehry, Renzo Piano, et bien d’autres.

La revue en quelques chiffres :
• 6 numéros par an
• bilingue français/anglais
• 144 pages
• 230 x 298 mm
• 25 euros en librairies
• 75 000 lecteurs répartis dans plus de 50 pays
• 1/3 du lectorat à l’étranger

1 revue, 4 cahiers :

Aujourd’hui : ce cahier présente les actualités du monde de l’architecture, du paysage, du design ou des arts, via une sélection de réalisations récentes, de chantiers en cours, d’expositions, de livres, ainsi que le Portrait d’un(e) architecte célèbre ou émergent(e).

Dossier : ce cahier se concentre sur la thématique du numéro (Construction en pierre, Mixités, Musées, etc) avec une sélection de projets emblématiques internationaux, complétée notamment par la rubrique Patrimoine qui éclaire d’un regard contemporain une archive issue des collections d’AA et une Enquête qui apporte contexte et analyse économique du sujet.

Regards : ce cahier ouvre de nouvelles perspectives en explorant les disciplines connexes à l’architecture comme le design ou l’art contemporain, et propose également un carnet de voyages urbains et des interviews d’acteurs du monde de la construction (promoteurs, économistes, paysagistes, etc).

Carnet de tendances : ce cahier traite une thématique par numéro (les bureaux, les ouvrants, les façades, etc) en explorant des savoir-faire industriels et des innovations à travers une sélection de projets et de produits internationaux.

Pour chaque numéro, AA fait appel à des plumes internationales comme Oliver Wainwright (The Guardian), Edwin Heathcote (Financial Times), Andrew Ayers (Architectural Review), Catherine Sabbah (Les Échos), ou encore Jean-Philippe Hugron (Le Courrier de l’Architecte).

La directrice artistique Laurence Ravoux met en valeur le contenu éditorial et iconographique dans une maquette élégante et contemporaine.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’histoire d’AA, cliquez ici pour avoir accès à la frise chronologique AA Rétro.

Réagissez à cet article