Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili
Cultural complex, Dandaji, Niger © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili

News

Interview with Mariam Kamara and Yasaman Esmaili

In 2018, their “Hikma” project, a cultural complex including a mosque and a community centre in Dandaji, Niger, won the Silver medal at the Global LafargeHolcim Awards and the Gold medal for the Middle East Africa region. Architects Mariam Kamara, founder in 2014 of atelier masomi, and Yasaman Esmaili, founder of studio chahar, are a committed team, working on architectures closer to everyday life and above all, tailored for local challenges.

L'architecte iranienne Yasaman Esmaili l'architecte nigérienne Mariam Kamara lors de la cérémonie des LafargeHolcim Awards 2018 © Courtesy LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction
Left, Iranian architect Yasaman Esmaili and right, Nigerian architect Mariam Kamara during the LafargeHolcim Awards 2018 ceremony © Courtesy LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui: Could you remind us of the origins of the “Hikma” project?
Mariam Kamara: I heard about the fact that the mosque of the Village of Dandaji was going to be knocked down in order for a bigger one to be built in its stead. It was the work of a architect El Hadji Falké Barmou, who won an Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1986 for a similar mosque in Yamaa. Through this building was an amazing example of traditional architectural techniques that was disappearing. We lobbied to save and transform it into a library. We worked with the local community, through discussions and workshops to better understand what they would want and how we can help put together a program that would really serve their needs.

Yasaman Esmaili: Before coming up with the idea of transforming the building into a library, we went through a series of conversations with the community leaders about the historic value and architectural uniqueness of the mosque. The village leaders were convinced to keep the mosque as a landmark. In fact, a library is a typology of building that can hold a similar spiritual value as a mosque and bringing science and religion together in the same location has been an enduring concept in Islam, as seen in the Abbasid houses of wisdom.
The project creates an educational and cultural campus for studying, learning, conversing and praying for the village of Dandaji, a Hausa village in western Niger with a very young population of 3,000. The campus also serves 5 surrounding villages, all with low literacy rates. We have designed a new 1,000-person mosque inspired by historic examples of Hausa mosques in the region and built from compressed earth blocks produced on site. In between the two buildings, we have created an open garden for community activities, workshops and gatherings.

Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © James Wang
Cultural complex, Dandaji, Niger © James Wang

“The design process purposefully focused on the localities and resulted in creating a cultural complex for conversation and cultivation of minds for various groups of people in the region.”

Coupe du site © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili
Site section: left, the library, right, the new mosque. © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili

 

AA: How did you come to work together? Do you have other projects in common?
MK: We first met in 2012, while we were both graduate students at the University of Washington school of Architecture in Seattle. We have worked together for the first time on the occasion of a project for a girls’ school in Northern Afghanistan.

YE: During this collaboration we found out that we share very similar visions towards architecture and how it should impact the everyday life of people, perhaps because of our similar backgrounds, being from majority Muslim countries: Iran and Niger. This collaboration led us to form a design collective, united4design, with two other architects, Elizabeth Golden and Philip Sträter, with the goal of designing and building Niamey 2000, a 1,700-sq.metre 6-unit housing complex created for the rapidly urbanising capital of Niger, Niamey. By increasing density and using local material, the project proposed a new model for urban housing. Following our collaboration in united4design, in 2015, Mariam shared the story of the beautiful Dandaji mosque with me and invited me to join her to work on reimagining the mosque.

AA: You both work in Niger. What is your vision of the contemporary architecture scene in Niger, and perhaps, more generally, in sub-Saharan Africa?
MK: Currently, the architecture field in Niger is still rather small, there aren’t that many trained architects in the country. Unfortunately at the present, contemporary architecture is too tied to the notion of architecture as it looks and functions in Western countries, which is very problematic and unsustainable for many reasons. For one, we don’t have access to the same amount of capital and building in the same way and with the materials that are used in Europe for example is extremely costly. There is also the reality that no matter how universal modernist architecture wanted to be, spaces simply don’t have the same functions and uses from culture to culture.
That said, there has recently been a new discourse emerging in Niger with practitioners starting to be interested in local materials and ways to reconcile that with a notion of contemporary architecture. Overall, there is a lot to be done in terms of looking more carefully at the local narratives, history, culture, and climate in order to produce new ways of conceptualizing space that people can recognize themselves in and that serves their actual needs. Unless we do that, it might prove very difficult to imagine creative and effective solutions to the big challenges of the next decades, mainly the rapid urbanization of the continent.

YE: I have worked on a few projects in Niger and my approach to architectural design is directly influenced by what I have learnt from practicing there. Contemporary architecture globally is evolving into a resourceful and people-oriented discipline, and we as designers are thriving to do more with less. This transformation is happening not only out of necessity but also because the egalitarian approach to design means that we will have healthier societies.
Countries like Niger, other sub-Saharan countries and all the other so called economically developing nations have major opportunities to grow and to shape their infrastructure by learning from the design achievements and failures of the rest of the world. In this process, designers can jump ahead in architectural thinking. Instead of keeping architectural design separate from the society and defining the built environment based on mass production and consumption, we can shape a much more community-centred and sustainable built environment, visioning architecture as an instrument for social, cultural and economic growth.

Niamey 2000 Housing, angle sud-est © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, southern façade © united4design

 

Niamey 2000 Housing, angle sud-est © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, southern-east façade © united4design

 

Niamey 2000 Housing, façade sud © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, southern façade © united4design


Anastasia de Villepin

React to this article

Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili
Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili

Actualités

Rencontre avec Mariam Kamara et Yasaman Esmaili

En 2018, leur projet «Hikma», un complexe culturel comprenant une mosquée et un centre communautaire à Dandaji au Niger, a été récompensé par une médaille d’argent dans la catégorie «Global» des LafargeHolcim Awards et une médaille d’or dans la catégorie régionale «Middle East Africa». Les architectes Mariam Kamara, fondatrice en 2014 de l’atelier masomi, et Yasaman Esmaili, fondatrice du studio chahar, forment un duo engagé en faveur d’une architecture du quotidien et surtout, adaptée aux enjeux locaux. Rencontre.

L'architecte iranienne Yasaman Esmaili l'architecte nigérienne Mariam Kamara lors de la cérémonie des LafargeHolcim Awards 2018 © Courtesy LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction
À gauche, l’architecte iranienne Yasaman Esmaili et à droite, l’architecte nigérienne Mariam Kamara lors de la cérémonie des LafargeHolcim Awards 2017-2018 © Courtesy LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction

L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui : Pourriez-vous nous rappeler l’origine du projet « Hikma » ?
Mariam Kamara : J’avais entendu dire que la mosquée du village de Dandaji allait être détruite pour en construire une plus grande à la place. Or il s’agissait de l’œuvre de l’architecte El Hadji Falké Barmou, lauréat de l’Aga Khan Award for Architecture en 1986 pour une mosquée similaire située dans la ville de Yamaa. Avec le projet de destruction de ce bâtiment, c’était un exemple de techniques architecturales traditionnelles qui risquait de disparaître. Nous avons fait pression pour le sauver et le transformer en bibliothèque. Puis nous avons travaillé avec la communauté locale, grâce à une série de discussions et d’ateliers, afin de mieux comprendre ses besoins et de mettre en place le programme adéquat.

Yasaman Esmaili : Avant que l’idée de transformer le bâtiment en bibliothèque n’émerge, nous avons en effet eu plusieurs conversations avec les dirigeants de la communauté sur la valeur historique et la singularité architecturale de la mosquée. Finalement, une bibliothèque est une typologie qui peut avoir une valeur spirituelle, similaire à celle d’une mosquée. Réunir la science et la religion en un seul et même lieu est un concept qui perdure dans l’Islam, comme par exemple dans les maisons de la sagesse abbassides du IXe siècle.
Le projet est un campus éducatif et culturel, pour étudier, apprendre, converser et prier, à Dandaji, village haoussa de l’ouest du Niger comptant 3 000 habitants. Le campus est également fréquenté par les 5 villages environnants, qui souffrent d’un faible taux d’alphabétisation. Nous avons conçu une nouvelle mosquée pouvant accueillir jusqu’à 1 000 personnes, en prenant exemple sur les mosquées historiques haoussa de la région, construites à partir de blocs de terre comprimée, fabriqués sur place. Entre les deux bâtiments, nous avons créé un jardin ouvert pour les activités, ateliers et rassemblements communautaires.

Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © James Wang
Complexe culturel, Dandaji, Niger © James Wang

« Le processus de conception s’est concentré de manière ciblée sur les particularités locales et a abouti à la création d’un complexe culturel propice à la conversation et à la culture de l’esprit pour les habitants de la région. »

Coupe du site © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili
Coupe du site : à gauche, la bibliothèque, à droite, la nouvelle mosquée © Mariam Kamara, Yasaman Esmaili

AA : Comment en êtes-vous venues à travailler ensemble ? Avez-vous d’autres projets en commun ?
MK : Nous nous sommes rencontrées pour la première fois en 2012, alors que nous étions toutes deux diplômées de l’école d’architecture de l’université de Washington à Seattle. Nous avons collaboré pour la première fois à l’occasion d’un projet d’école pour filles dans le nord de l’Afghanistan.

YE : Au cours de cette collaboration, nous avons découvert que nous partagions la même vision de l’architecture et de son impact sur la vie quotidienne, peut-être en raison de nos origines similaires, venant de pays à majorité musulmane, l’Iran et le Niger. Cette collaboration nous a conduit à former le collectif united4design, avec deux autres architectes, Elizabeth Golden et Philip Sträter, dans le but de concevoir et de construire Niamey 2000, un complexe immobilier de 6 logements de 1 700 m2 pour la capitale du Niger en pleine urbanisation. Nous souhaitions proposer un nouveau modèle urbain, basé sur la densification des logements et l’utilisation de matériaux locaux. Suite à notre collaboration avec united4design, en 2015, Mariam a partagé avec moi l’histoire de la mosquée de Dandaji et m’a invitée à la rejoindre pour travailler à la réinvention de ce bâtiment.

AA : Vous travaillez toutes deux au Niger, quelle est votre vision de l’architecture contemporaine du pays, et peut-être aussi, plus généralement, de l’Afrique subsaharienne ?
MK : À l’heure actuelle, le domaine de l’architecture au Niger est encore relativement restreint. Il n’y a pas beaucoup d’architectes qualifiés dans le pays. Malheureusement, l’architecture contemporaine est trop liée à la notion d’architecture telle qu’elle se présente et fonctionne dans les pays occidentaux, ce qui est très problématique et intenable pour de nombreuses raisons. Tout d’abord, nous n’avons pas les mêmes moyens financiers et constructifs qu’en Europe. Les matériaux utilisés en Europe sont ici extrêmement coûteux. La réalité est que, si universelle que puisse être l’architecture moderniste, les espaces n’ont tout simplement pas les mêmes fonctions et utilisations d’une culture à l’autre.
Cependant, un nouveau discours a récemment émergé au Niger : les architectes s’intéressent de plus en plus à l’usage des matériaux locaux et aux moyens de les concilier à une pratique contemporaine. Globalement, il reste beaucoup à faire pour examiner plus attentivement et localement les récits, l’histoire, la culture et le climat, afin de trouver de nouvelles façons de dessiner un espace dans lequel les gens se reconnaissent. Si nous ne le faisons pas, il sera difficile d’imaginer des solutions créatives et efficaces, faces aux défis des prochaines décennies, et notamment face à l’urbanisation croissante du continent.

YE : J’ai travaillé sur quelques projets au Niger et mon approche de la conception architecturale est directement influencée par ce que j’y ai appris. L’architecture contemporaine évolue pour devenir une discipline pleine de ressources et axée sur l’humain et par ailleurs nous, en tant que concepteurs, nous souhaitons faire plus avec moins.
Des pays comme le Niger, tous les autres pays dits « en développement », ont l’opportunité de développer leurs infrastructures en tirant les leçons des réussites et des échecs du reste du monde. Au cœur de ce processus, les architectes peuvent progresser. Au lieu de séparer la conception architecturale de la société et de définir l’environnement bâti en fonction de la production et de la consommation de masse, nous pouvons dessiner un environnement beaucoup plus durable et centré sur la communauté. Il nous faut considérer l’architecture comme un instrument de croissance sociale, culturelle et économique.

Niamey 2000 Housing, angle sud-est © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, façade sud © united4design

 

Niamey 2000 Housing, angle sud-est © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, angle sud-est © united4design

 

Niamey 2000 Housing, façade sud © united4design
Niamey 2000 Housing, façade sud © united4design

Propos recueillis par Anastasia de Villepin

Réagissez à cet article