© USH - the 80th annual social housing congress' banner
© USH - the 80th annual social housing congress' banner

Actualités

3 questions to Marianne Louis

© USH, Marwen Farhat
© USH, Marwen Farhat

On 26 September, the 80th annual social housing congress, organised by the Union Sociale pour l’Habitat (USH), the national body which represents around 720 French social housing organisations, came to an end. Marianne Louis, managing director of the USH since 2018, answered Anastasia de Villepin’s questions for AA.

The 2019 social housing congress was given the theme ‘Social housing, a French model’.  Why was this angle selected?

This year is the 80th congress, and also the USH’s 90th anniversary. We wanted to mark these two occasions by remembering the importance of the social housing movement in France and the extent to which it has spanned the country’s history of housing. We enjoy a long-standing and long-term funding model. This is made possible for example by the Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, which enables us to organise long-term loans. During the 2008 economic crisis, while there was a considerable drop in investments, landlords purchased housing on a massive scale. Social housing is often criticised as being an unwieldy colossus, but ultimately, it is holding its own. Today, however, this system could be under threat due to the State’s withdrawal.

What is threatening this ‘colossus’?

The primary threat is a short-term revision approach of social housing stock and its budgets. The 4.5 million social housing units and more than 11 million tenants are the result of a long-term public policy which has never questioned the utility of such housing. Recent rulings, such as the decrease in personal housing assistance (APL), decided in October 2018, which has forced social housing organisations to lower their rents, has had an impact on our funds. In addition, there is an increasing number of applications for social housing: there are currently 1.5 million applications which cannot be accepted. The rise in the number of insecure jobs, which do not provide access to private housing stock, is slowing down the turnover between tenants, who are staying longer in social housing. Lastly, the rise in private sector rents has a direct impact on these figures. We tend to forget, but we are actually highly dependent on the private sector.

How can the USH manage this?

This congress was also an opportunity to consider new financing solutions. We absolutely want to avoid the ‘financialisation’ of housing and to bear in mind that social housing is part of our nation’s heritage. Many private financial organisations expect a short-term return on investment but this is not possible if we want to develop social housing stock. Moreover, for several years now we have been fighting for changes to allocation policies. These criteria, currently based solely on income levels, must be opened for example to consider the composition of income.

This interview is taken from AA’s 433rd issue – Social Housing, a French exception ?, available on our online store.

Find the new financing solutions presented by Marianne Louis during the 80th annual social housing congress in the video below (in French).

React to this article

© USH - Bannière du 80ème congrès Hlm
© USH - Bannière du 80ème congrès annuel Hlm

Actualités

3 questions à Marianne Louis

© USH, Marwen Farhat
© USH, Marwen Farhat

Le 26 septembre dernier se clôturait le 80e congrès annuel Hlm, organisé par l’Union Sociale pour l’Habitat (USH), organisation nationale qui représente près de 720 organismes Hlm. La directrice générale de l’USH depuis 2018, Marianne Louis, répond à 3 questions d’Anastasia de Villepin pour AA.

L’édition 2019 du congrès Hlm avait pour thème « Les Hlm, un modèle français ». Pourquoi ce choix ?

Cette année marque le 80e congrès, mais aussi les 90 ans de notre organisme. Un double anniversaire que nous avons souhaité célébrer en rappelant l’importance du Mouvement Hlm en France, à quel point il a traversé l’histoire du logement français. Nous bénéficions d’un modèle de financement historique, à long terme, rendu possible grâce par exemple à la Caisse des Dépôts et Consignations, qui nous permet de faire des prêts sur une longue durée. Lors de la crise économique des années 2008, alors qu’on notait une baisse significative des investissements, les bailleurs eux, ont massivement acheté. On reproche souvent au logement Hlm d’être un paquebot, mais finalement, c’est lui qui tient bon. Aujourd’hui cependant, ce système pourrait être remis en cause par le désengagement de l’État.

Quelles sont les menaces qui pèsent sur ce « paquebot » ?

La première menace serait une vision de valorisation à court terme du patrimoine du logement social et de ses budgets.
Les 4,5 millions de logements sociaux et les plus de 11 millions de locataires sont le fruit d’une politique publique à long terme, qui n’a jamais remis en question l’utilité de ces habitations. Or les décisions récentes, comme la baisse des aides personnalisées au logement (APL), décidée en octobre 2018, qui a obligé les organismes Hlm à baisser leur loyer, ont eu un impact sur nos fonds. Par ailleurs, il faut noter l’augmentation des demandes de logement social : à l’heure actuelle, ce sont 1,5 million de requêtes non pourvues. La multiplication des emplois précaires, qui n’ont pas accès au parc privé, fait ralentir la rotation entre les locataires, qui restent plus longtemps dans leur logement. Enfin, la hausse des prix des loyers dans le secteur privé a un impact direct sur ces chiffres. On a tendance à l’oublier, mais nous sommes finalement très dépendants du secteur privé.

Comment l’USH peut-elle faire face à cela ?

Ce congrès fut aussi l’occasion de réfléchir à de nouvelles solutions de financement. Mais nous voulons à tout prix éviter la « financiarisation » du logement et garder en tête que le logement social fait partie du patrimoine de la nation. Or beaucoup de financeurs privés attendent un rendement à court terme, ce qui n’est pas possible si l’on veut que le parc social se développe. En outre, nous luttons depuis plusieurs années pour l’évolution des politiques d’attribution. Il faut que les critères, aujourd’hui basés uniquement sur un niveau de revenus, s’ouvrent par exemple à la composition de ces revenus.

Cette interview est issue du n°433 d’AA – Logement social, une exception française ? -, disponible sur notre boutique en ligne.

Retrouvez la présentation, par Marianne Louis, des nouvelles résolutions de financement prises lors du 80e congrès annuel Hlm dans la vidéo ci-dessous.

Réagissez à cet article

Vos avis (1)

  • Wildnfree, le , a écrit:

    Bel article agréable à lire.
    Habité de bon sens